Friday’s Hunt July 30th

Can you believe that in 2 days its August?
Already?
Summer is flying by…
I’ve finished first cutting of our hay, and have more in my first cut that I had all last year. I’ve broken my baling bin, and Hubby’s plan today is to build something to do the task for me. Which is good, because I have my last few bales worth finishing drying and will be ready for baling this afternoon.

We’re coming up on 4 years here.
August 16th makes 4 years of Farm life.
And yet, it feels like a life time. 🙂

In 4 years we’ve gone from our little urban “farm” to a rural one, raised pigs, meat chickens, hennys for eggs, and cared for 4 lovely equines.
In 4 years we’ve redesigned this property to produce food for us, with a 24×40 garden (and this year, I actually got much of it planted!), 9 smaller raised beds, and a whole bunch of fruit trees and bushes.
Last week, I savored the first 2 honeyberries that came off our bushes.
Today I’m planting 2 red currant bushes, which, should they do well, will be propagated into a nice little orchard of currants.

It’s been a lot of work, and we’ve got a long way to go to get to where we want to be.
I still don’t have a milking animal, and we are still planning on bison. Those are adventures still to be written about…but for today, I have my images for Friday’s Hunt hosted by Teresa at Eden Hills.

Prompts are Starts with D, Favorite, and Photographer’s Choice.

Starts with D

The lilies are blooming, which in my world means a photo shoot with horses. As always, Astrid gets excited to join in on the fun, because humans and bug juice and pets and scritches and oh my!!
And then, when it’s her turn, she begins to wonder if this is all as fun as she though it might be…

“Uh, wait…
This isn’t what I thought was going to happen!”
~ Astrid

I figured, since she was relaxed, and enjoying the attention, that putting the lilies in her mane would be easy peasy…nope, she turned into a big old dork and kept flinging her head up, saying “No! I don’t want that!!”
Silly Girl. 😉

Favorite

This one… ❤


And this one… ❤


And this one… ❤

Photographer’s Choice

5 thoughts on “Friday’s Hunt July 30th

  1. Natasha says:

    Beautiful photos here! – Tasha

    Liked by 1 person

  2. These are very pretty photos of Astrid and the flower. My favorite is the first one. She is a beautifully colored horse. 🙂

    Have a blessed week!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. scotiaspinner says:

    Great shots – Astrid was very accommodating!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. pattisj says:

    Maybe Astrid just didn’t like that color. Or she’s so pretty, she doesn’t “need” adornments. You’ve come a long way in four short years. Thanks for sharing a bit of your story with us.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Teresa says:

    Great images of the horses! I know what you mean about time flying quickly. There’s always so many plans for the farm. I hope they all come true! Thanks so much for joining Friday’s Hunt. Sorry I’m so late to visit this week.

    Like

Comments are closed.