Skill + Vision + A Whole Lotta Luck

I am often asked how I capture the images that I do with the horses.
It is, in my mind:

1 part skill,
2 parts luck,
1 part artistic vision.

I know, as a fairly serious lover of photography, I should be aiming for 3 parts skill and the other part a mix of luck and vision, but y’know…
1200lb toddlers with a mind of their own.
Many days, I have an idea in mind of what I want to see in the final image, and yet, nothing goes to plan to achieve that vision…adapting on the fly, shooting even when it seems it’s not working and accepting that things may not be exactly as I wanted…that’s how I capture the images I do.

Kinda like this next image…

I caught this during my Canada Day shoot with the Girls.
The plan was the flag on her halter, the flowers and her eye…well, she wasn’t chuffed about the flowers in the first place and kept tossing her head to get rid of them. So, adding the flag pin wasn’t a possibility.
Instead, I stood in front of her, talked softly and when she pricked her ears towards my voice, I shot, capturing this.
Not what I was going for, and yet, a beautiful image. ❤

I am not afraid of storms,
for I am learning how to sail my ship.
~ Louisa May Alcott

2 thoughts on “Skill + Vision + A Whole Lotta Luck

  1. Wyldkat says:

    I have no where near your skill, but I still try. I’ve said that photography is 50% luck and/or timing, 33% skill and the balance is having the right tools.

    Like

  2. barnraised says:

    This is beautiful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

