Friday’s Hunt June 11th

Well, it’s been an interesting week here.
I swear, I’m just itching to have a boring-as-the-day-is-long week, I’m telling you! lol
But, the grand news is, I have finally got some tomato plants in the garden…as well as all my peppers are in, both some hot and some sweet ones.
I have a few more tomatoes to get in, then the carrots, beets, beans and peas. If Hubby manages to get more tilling done, then, I’ll stick a pumpkin or two and some leafy greens.
All in all, it’s not going to be the huge garden I want, but, its way better than last year’s nothing.
And next year…well, next year, I’m going to make it work all over. 😉

Prompts for Friday’s Hunt hosted by Teresa at Eden Hills this week are Starts with W, Week’s Favorite, and Pastel.

Starts with W

What is that I see over there, in the shade beside the fence?

Why, it’s a pile of piggies having a nap.
And oh, what a piggie pile it is!!

Andy Piggie says “Listen Food Lady, if you aren’t bringing us food, then why are you waking us up?”

Well, I wasn’t trying to wake them up. I only wanted a few pictures of them being cute, but when they hear me coming, they jump up, looking for treats and scratches (mostly treats).

Week’s Favorite

Once again, my dear sweet horse spent a week not quite herself.
With the impending rain storm, I thought she might have been in the process of that very unpleasant “C” word that horse owners don’t like to use because we don’t ever want to give that word any sort of Power over our equines…
There has also been a wealth of flies and a few mosquitoes hanging about.

I spent the grocery money on bug juice…between the Konk sprayer in the shelter, and a Konk spray I can use right on her, she’s getting some relief.
But she’s sore. The damp is kicking her right in the arthritis (and last night during beet pulp, I found a mark where someone *ahem*Astrid*ahem* landed a kick on her hock), and we’re looking at adding some new supplements.
I’m trying to manage things as much as possible without using pain meds.
I have good reason for that.
I’m not saying I won’t give her pain meds, but I’m hoping to avoid that for as long as possible.

So, last night, after giving her a good once over with the new bug spray, some stretches and a back rub, I left her to her own devices. Which was the overwhelming need for a nap. I hadn’t even made the house when I heard her heave a big sigh…I turned to see her laying down comfortably, dozing. I went for Voldemort…

Near onto 10 at night, bugs are horrible, and she’s napping…<3

Look at that bottom lip. That’s a sleeping Girl.
I almost let out a shriek of triumphant joy…almost. But that would have woken her, and I didn’t want to do that.
Instead I went back to the deck, enjoyed a glass of wine with my eau’d’equine parfum lingering and watched her sleep.

Pastel

As I sat there, listening to my horse snore (by gosh and golly gee, that’s a beautiful sound…Black Horse snoring. ❤ ) I watched the moon rise. It had a lovely pale red glow to it, and I wondered…could I get away with using that as “pastel” this week?
Then I thought, it’s my blog, of course I can! 😉

Moon over the Farm

Through the trees…

Today is another day…
I’ve spent the morning with my Girl, cold hosing that leg that took the kick, and she’s feeling better. The dampness has eased off (since we’ve had 2 days of rain!) and she’s getting a hoof trim this afternoon.
Hubby dug out a few samples of Absorbine horse liniment that we were given, and I massaged that into her back and pelvic area…
So far, so good. 🙂
And now, I’m sending him and The Kid out driving…they can go to the nearest pet/tack shop and price out a bigger bottle of the liniment. While she gets some driving practice in.

Have a great week ahead, friends.
We’re working on a better one here.

5 thoughts on “Friday’s Hunt June 11th

  1. ‘Moon Through the Trees’
    *********sigh*********

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Teresa says:

    The moon shots are beautiful! Of course, your horsie girl is gorgeous too. It seems like there’s always something on the farm. Thanks so much for joining Friday’s Hunt. Have a great rest of the week!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Toosh says:

    Love Konk!
    And the piglets are very cute.
    Here’s to an uneventful week.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. pattisj says:

    I like that bloggers get to make their own rules! LOL Glad your girl got some rest, hope she’s feeling better. Driving lessons! That brings back memories…now my daughter will be making memories with one of hers soon.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

