On Cussing and Banana Bread

I’m making banana bread today.
I have 4 bananas left from the bag of 17 I bought at Wal-mart last week…yep, you read that right. I bought bananas at Wal-mart.
If you know me even a little bit, you know, when it comes to Wal-mart, I’m not a fan.
I think the quality of their products is lesser (which is why it’s often so cheap) and I don’t like many of their corporate practices.
Oh, and it’s always busy, and I have problems with crowds.

But…

Their clearance section in the produce and bread aisles absolutely rock!!
My point. 17 bananas for $1.
Yeah.
I have 4 left…
I ate 7, 3 went into an angel food cake dessert, and 3 went to the chickens. For $1.
I’m seriously considering clearing out a clearance rack of bananas to make a batch of banana wine.
For today though, it’s going to be a banana bread day. πŸ˜‰

Last night, I was working on editing my Yule photos.
On New Year’s Day, we finally managed to get decent enough weather that I could make the attempt to create what I was envisioning.
There is this photographer I follow on FB, Aneta Novotna…super talented, gorgeous images of amazingly gorgeous horses…well, she did a shoot with a fjord horse, a christmas tree and a santa hat…it was gorgeous. I mean, I was gushing at the beauty of it. I still am!
And, I really wanted to recreate the idea here at the farm.

Well, instead of an insanely beautiful horse with a perfect tree, I got this:

"Hey Mom, you put apples on the tree??" ~Ruby

“Hey Mom, you put apples on the tree??”
~Ruby

And that’s when the cussing started…

Now, I know cussing is something that bothers some folks. Around here, and well, anywhere there’s livestock, cussing is a way of life.
I don’t mean that every second word is a swear, but there are times that they just come out…kinda like yesterday’s blog post when I said people should just “slow the fuck down”…I know I didn’t *need* to swear, but at the same time, it gets the point across.

Here we have my Hubby on the side of the highway, in the frigid cold, and cars are zooming by, not slowing down, not moving over…guys, that’s my world there! I get it, people are in a hurry, gotta get to work, gotta do this, gotta do that…but 30 seconds to slow up and ease over to the other lane so that the guy stuck on the side of the highway can do what he needs to do and then get home safe isn’t going to end your world. But, if you’re not careful, your actions could end mine. All for the want of 30 extra seconds.
That, my friends, warrants a “slow the fuck down”…
Oh, and he did get the tire changed safely, with the help of my brother, who got up at 4:35am and went out to help him.
He’s a good human, that brother of mine.

And then there’s this silly horse…
Who thought that she should eat that plastic non-apple, and in less than a second, had that thing in her mouth and was trotting away, while I yelled at her “Drop that ball you stupid fucking bitch!!”

Yep. Livestock inspires cussing.

Thankfully, she did drop it when Hubby walked towards her and simple said, low and growly “Ruby…”, and ploop, out came that ball…and into her mouth he went with his hands, to make sure she didn’t have the wire caught in there.
Again, thankfully, she didn’t. Turns out, after reviewing the images (D90 is 4.5 fps) we saw that the wire had come off when Ruby pulled the ball from the tree and flipped back into the snow.
Some frigid digging later and we found that…Yay!
That ended my attempts at a pretty, serene and relaxed, decorated tree photo shoot. πŸ˜‰

We did leave the trees out in the pasture for the Girls to nibble and play with. They’ve been having fun with that. Hopefully, they’ll do when I can get to my camera. If not, well, I’ll just have to enjoy it for all y’all. πŸ˜‰

One more shot from the tree attempt:

My Old Ladies...

My Old Ladies…

They were just having a moment, my Old Ladies were. ❀

 

For more images by the talented Aneta Novotna, check out her galleries here.

2 thoughts on “On Cussing and Banana Bread

  1. lol, o yes for sure.. cussing happens around livestock.. great photos.. an to funny..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yup. Cussing and livestock.

    Like

Comments are closed.