I Got It Honest

It ain’t nothin’ but a small frame house on an acre lot
It ain’t that much diff’rent from any other house on the block

aint-nothin-but-a-small-frame-house
And it may not look like we got all our share of the promise
But at least one thing’s for sure,
I got it honest

share-of-the-promise

Roll out of the sack every mornin’, head on down to the mill
Give ’em all I got for eight, ’cause that’s the deal

Hay2
If you’ll check out my paycheck
Well, you’ll see that there ain’t that much on it

My road sign...it's a simple picture, but one of my favorites that I've taken here.

But ev’ry single penny I’m paid,
I got it honest

 

I never had to hang my head in shame
For puttin’ a price tag on my name

bella-and-daddy
Never turned my back on what I believe
Or let my heart be ruled by greed
‘Cause buddy if I didn’t earn it, I don’t want it
That way I can always say,
I got it honest

My sweet mare...breakaway is back on, nose shoved into me for comfort.


Now you ain’t looking at some dude

That was born with a Silver spoon in his mouth

scythe9
And I might seem like some kind of low-life
To that highfalutin’ crowd

Hubby n Sable
But I’m plain spoken, straight talkin’
And damn proud of what I have accomplished

Screenshot - 101213 - 01:08:40 PM
Some folks appreciate that and some don’t
But, I got it honest

 

Shelter Peeking

Now when I die, I may not leave my kids a fortune
But I hope they know’d my life stood for things that were important

Happiness is
And I’ll hand out the same sturdy old values of my daddy and my momma

bella-and-her-girlIt made me every ounce of what I am and
I got it honest

I never had to hang my head in shame
For puttin’ a price tag on my name

Definitely worth the price we paid for it!

Never turned my back on what I believe
Or let my heart be ruled by greed

"Hello Mom Lady's person...got nummies for me?"

‘Cause brother if I didn’t earn it, I don’t want it

Such a smart and pretty girl!

That way I can always say,
I got it honest

Friend there ain’t no doubt about it,
I got it honest

Our house.

Our house.

© Bruce Burch, Marcus Franklin Johnson, Aaron Tippin
Released 1994 by Aaron Tippen

3 thoughts on “I Got It Honest

  1. Beautiful! Seem rather perfect to me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your house… is a very very very fine house!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Toosh says:

    I love your ‘music montage’. Home. A perfect fit.
    And the Kid with the Lawn Ornaments-nothing short of perfect. What a moment to capture. You’ve captured all the moments. Thank you for sharing home sweet home 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.