Happy Day After Canadian Thanksgiving

I’m not a Thanksgiving person.
It’s not that I’m not grateful for all the Blessings in my life (of which I have many), I just don’t feel the need to have 1 day to celebrate it.
And, if I did, it would be at the Fall Equinox. That’s the time, to me, to celebrate the harvest, and get yourself spiritually ready for the coming seasonal changes. But, that’s me. 😉

Our weekend was a busy one nonetheless.
Saturday we were up early (when aren’t we??) and off to the Stable, where they were having a tack sale. We went with the intention of trying to find a used bit for Astrid. I’ll be honest, I didn’t want to pay a lot. Astrid was trained with an eggbutt snaffle, and a new one runs $25-30 at Greenhawk. We did find a couple of bits, but they came with bridles. Well, as it turns out, Hubby was looking for a bridle for Ruby…so, 2 birds and all that.
I’ll  probably end up on the hunt for another eggbutt for Ruby, just because I don’t know what bit was used on her in her wee bit of training she’s had (before coming to us).
I don’t have to worry about any of this for my Girl…that’s the joys of a pasture potato…tack? Why for do we need tack? lol If (when) I get her to the point of being ridden, I’ll likely go bitless with her anyways.

On the drive home from the Stable, I pulled my camera out for a few shots. It’s one of the rare times I actually thought to do it. I typically have the camera with me, just never think to pull it out for road shots. This though, was what inspired me to do so:

Oooooh!! Now that's a Big Boy Toy!

Oooooh!! Now that’s a Big Boy Toy!

I wanna drive one! 😀

Then I played a bit with rearview mirror shots…

Leaving the noise and stink of the city behind us...

Leaving the noise and stink of the city behind us…

It’s funny, we’ve had people come out the to Farm and complain of the smell. Yeah, we have a variety of manure scents…pigs, chickens, horses…but it still smells better out here than the city does. I swear, I go into the city and I’m gagging. Ugh. It’s awful.
I’m happy to come home to my poop machines. lol

This next shot is one I have wanted to take for the 3 years we’ve been on the Farm…again, never think to pull the camera out. Excuse the imperfectness of it. I did take it at 100km/hr and through a dirty window…

gravestones-on-7One day, I’ll get Hubby to stop, so I can take a better shot, and see what’s written on the stones.

Sunday was attempted goose hunting day. It’s that time of year again! Geese on the field need to go to freezer camp. Only problem was with the wind, they stayed on the field, so issuing the F.C. invite was near onto impossible. 😦
And then the hunting was cut short because of this Girl:

burrlock-cookieWith the cold, wild wind, and the gate being closed so they had to stay in the front pasture, she was not herself. At first I worried that we were going into another “C” event. Thankfully, no. She is, however, feeling the chill and was showing signs of pain in her back and pelvis.
*sigh*
The joys of an ex-broodie.
So, a back rub (which she loves now…go figure!) on Sunday and an increase in her flax. Last winter I bumped her up to a full cup, and she did very well. Her achy grumpiness eased and she was a different horse. Well, this year, I hope to head off the Grumpy Horse-ness at the pass, and get her feeling better sooner.
Yesterday, she and I worked on stretches. Poor Girl. The idea of Mom holding her legs in the air and helping her stretch them is just weird…she was not impressed. Though, she did walk off a little easier, so, hopefully the dots will connect up in that pretty head of hers.
But, she’s also a very Sheldon-like horse. Which I’ve said before…she doesn’t do well with change (even something so simple as being closed into a spot she normally isn’t), and you have to take your time with her.
You have to take your time with Sheldon (Cookie). 😉
My Girl will never be the “get in the trailer, we’re going trail riding somewhere else!” horse.
Nope, that’s just not going to happen.
And that’s okay. I’ll love her forever anyway.
❤

I wanted to take a few shots of her lying down, instead she decided to get up when I came outside.

Well, that's not graceful at all.

Well, that’s not graceful at all.

I love her white stripe down the center of her belly…she also has a white splotch on her inner thigh. Her markings just make me smile.
One last photo to share…this is what I get when I’m lying down taking pictures of Cookie. Sable has to come see what I’m doing. 🙂

sable-from-below

Finally, yesterday…
Yesterday I did some hay maintenance. Since I can’t cut any more of my long grass out front for hay this year, I got Hubby to pull out one of the gas lawn mowers and for the first time this year, I cut the grass in a conventional way.
But, not before I did a final cut with the mower in the garden. Next year, I *will* have a garden. Before the snows, we’re working on covering it to keep the weeds from wreaking the same havoc they did this year.
Cutting the grass/garden with a mower with a bagger on it is reason #8,678,294.3 why I’ve enjoyed raising pigs…never mind dumping grass clippings for composting. Noooooo!!! Feed it to the piggies. Oh boy! That was exciting and tasty and well, when they were tired of eating, it made great bedding.
Happy, happy piggies…and you know our motto!

Happy Food Tastes Better.

And now, work to do.
Enjoy your day, my friends!

