Hey Folks!

Or…should I say “Hay” folks!?!
Because that’s what I’ve been doing, instead of blogging.
Cutting hay.
By hand…like a crazy person.
The sun has been shining, and aside from a ridiculous 2 hour downpour Sunday which was not in the forecast at all and I swear only rained on my land, it’s been fairly dry.
Y’know what they say, make hay while the sun shines! 😉

When I’m not outside doing chores, I’m trying to get some mass photo editing done. We went to 2 places a couple Saturdays ago and I took a lot of pictures.
One was Cloverdale Forge, where the local blacksmith works. They were hosting 2 guests who were sharing their metal crafts, and well, I wanted to photograph the demos. Hubby just wanted to watch and soak up all the knowledge he could. I think that The Kid found it interesting…I hope so, since she’ll get to test things out once Hubby has his forge built.

So, I have those pictures to edit, and share with the owners of the forge. They had asked if I had anything really awesome, if they could use it for promoting the next few rounds of demos…um, hell yeah! So long as I can come out and photograph those too! 🙂
Here’s a sample image…

Forge1 wmWhat looks like blurring and photo manipulation is the heat rising off the coals. Looks pretty darn cool (lol) if you ask me.

And then, in the afternoon of the same day, we zipped off to the Medieval Festival being held a few miles away.

That was pretty cool to check out too. They had actual jousting…so guess what I was there for. 😉

Knight on a Percheron

Knight on a Percheron

There is something about a Percheron prancing and strutting…Oh. My. Gosh. But, as gorgeous as the Percheron was, this one…

Clydesdale

Clydesdale

I was wholly and completely smitten with this horse.
So beautiful!! ❤ ❤ ❤

And now, I have another 100 or so frames to finish before I call that shoot a wrap.
But, that can only happen when I’m not outside making hay, feeding chickens, picking eggs, cutting weeds for piggies, working with ponies…LOL!

Oh, and then, we had a rain storm last week…whew, it was a doozy, and even then it didn’t hit us as hard as some. We had some things blown around in the strong winds, a crazy bright lightening show and hard rains, but friends had downed trees and property damage. 😦
What we did have, was our internet go out for half a day…and because it was too wet out to cut hay, I did edit pictures off the hard drive. Over 2000 images were gone through, and with hard editing, I’m down to just around 400 left. And we have room on the hard drive again! Yay!

That was after the storm...

That was after the storm…

With how dark the sky was (this shot doesn’t show how dark it really was!) I was sure it was coming back around at us, but it didn’t. Thankfully.

Finally, yes, I realize I missed the Friday’s Hunt post for D…I’ll catch up with a double set of images this weekend. At least, that’s what I’m telling myself. 😉

ps: we’re coming up on our 3 year anniversary here on the Farm. So exciting!

2 thoughts on “Hey Folks!

  1. Toosh says:

    The Knight is Poster Perfect. The heat rising is as gorgeous as any oil painting. Really really amazing shots Christine!!
    Glad you’re having fun as well with your ‘no batteries required’ haymaker 🙂

    Like

  2. barnraised says:

    Happy 3 years!

    Like

Comments are closed.