It Can Be Tough…

Sometimes, to keep up on the blog in summer.
Sorry, I know y’all want pictures, and to know what’s been going on.
I’ve got pictures, and I’m trying to make sure I get posts written, but it doesn’t always happen. So, bear with me, I’ll get you caught up.
But first…

I said I was going to make an effort to do the whole alphabet for Friday’s Hunt hosted by Teresa at Eden Hills, and I’m not jamming out on b! So, this weeks prompts are Starts with B, Week’s Favorite and Patriotic.
All these shots are from my Canada Day shoot with Cookie…

Starts with B…

My poor big baby. She was terrified of the flag, the head-dress, the beret…bugs were bad, she was in a mood and it was tough getting her to trust me that nothing was going to eat her.
We did this to her…which happens to be my Week’s Favorite shot…

Cookie wears the Canadian flag.

Cookie wears the Canadian flag.

No, she’s not happy.
Flags are scary. Mama said “Wear this scary thing for me, ‘kay? Imma be over here though, so you just wait for me.”
It was hard on her. Super mega bonus points to Cookie for not pooping in fear, and for waiting as patiently as she could for me to get this shot.

And then, we tried this…

Oh, my sweet Baby Girl!

Oh, my sweet Baby Girl!

We clipped the flag to her mane, and draped it over her rump, like Hubby did with Sable…well, the wind picked up and caught it and my big baby went sideways! You can see the tension in her body…poor baby! She tried so hard to hold still, but the fear won out. Again, bonus points to Cookie, when Hubby dove to catch the flag (it never did hit the ground!) and I called “Stand!” she did. She snorted and honked like a goose, but she stood.
It’s one of the best things I’ve been able to teach her…

Finally, Patriotic
What’s more patriotic than an ex-military man helping out on a Canada Day photo shoot, while wearing his beret (and the flag draped around his shoulders)?

Hubby, soothing my big baby. <3

Hubby, soothing my big baby. ❤

Oh, and one last one…
After I took her for a walk to work off the tension, unhooked the lead and let her go, Cookie gave me this look…

"I'm so done with you today, Woman!"

“I am so done with you today, Woman!”

Best.
Side Eye.
Ever.

5 thoughts on “It Can Be Tough…

  1. kittiesblue says:

    We didn’t know that horses gave what we kitties call the “stink eye,” but it cannot be mistaken, even here. We feel your pain, Cookie. XOCK, Lily Olivia, Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta, Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth and Calista Jo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, Cookie is a beautiful horse – I just love that pattern on her side. It reminds me of a Mandelbrot set that has been graphed. Just stunning. She was very brave with the flag!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. vem030956 says:

    Aww poor Cookie. She is so beautiful, but he has the “stink eye” down pat…I get that from my dog on occasion. She deserves extra oats for being so brave! Kudos to hubby for trying to calm her! Thanks for the posts!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Teresa says:

    She is a beautiful girl.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Toosh says:

    Cookie did really well!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.