Our Week So Far…

Well, so far, so good.
Weather has been lovely, pasture is drying up, piggies are growing steadily, and my Cookie and I have been doing our springtime refresher.

Y’see, this is our 3rd Spring together, and after those hard, cold winters, we tend to need to get reaquainted with one another. She needs to remember how walk on a lead line politely, how to stand when I ask her to, how to give me her feet, how to just enjoy being groomed.
I have to remember to let her figure things out in her own head, how to let her go at her own pace, stop trying to force her ahead in the “schedule”…in other words, I have to remember to be patient with her.
She’s a special Girl, who needs just a little extra special care.

This week has seen a couple fantastic sessions.
She’s doing very well.
She’s smart Girl, and once she gets what I’m asking, she’s willing.
She is, however, far too used to not being handled…remember, she came to me as a 9-year-old broodie with very little handling.
And a whole semi truck load of issues.
We’re still working through those. I think, some days, we’ll always be working through them.
But, the more time she spends here, the less time we have to spend on basics, and the farther along we get…so, this summer, I plan to push her right out of her comfort zone by putting the surcingle on her. That’ll come over The Kid’s summer holidays, just in case she loses her shit and tries to kill me. I want another person on the Farm to call 911. πŸ˜‰

That’s later though…now, we’re just enjoying time together, while I remind her what I expect of her, manners wise. And, we’re going to continue gate work, coming into the yard, and going into Hubby’s workshop to stand.
Y’see, coming up this summer, she’s going to need to have her teeth done. As much as I’d like to take her to the vet to have it done, trailering her ain’t gonna happen this year…probably not next year. Hell, it may never happen.
So, the vet has to come here. She has to be comfortable in a place where the other 3 can’t be pushing up on her, or him, while she gets her teeth floated. And, she has to be comfortable in a place where she can be drugged up enough to have them done.
I have my work cut out for me.

"If I make like I'm thirsty, but play in the water instead, maybe she'll leave me alone, and I won't have to work."  ~Cookie

“If I make like I’m thirsty, but play in the water instead, maybe she’ll leave me alone, and I won’t have to work.”
~Cookie

Nah, that didn’t work. I give her a few minutes to play and goof off, then it’s time to work. Going back to that water pan every now and then is her reward…do well with what I’m asking, and I give you a play break. It’s works for her. πŸ™‚

"You exhaust me, Woman." ~Cookie

“You exhaust me, Woman.”
~Cookie

Both Monday, and yesterday, this is what I was left with after we were done…a giant sleepy baby, relaxed and happy.
That’s exactly what I want. πŸ™‚

And now…a piggie picture!

This is Anthony.
Anthony has put on 2 lbs since Sunday.
Anthony eats, sleeps, poops and sometimes plays…especially when I spray him with the hose.

"This trough makes a good pillow...plus, I can eat in my sleep."

“This trough makes a good pillow…plus, I can eat in my sleep.”

Happy piggies are tasty piggies. πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “Our Week So Far…

  1. Toosh says:

    Cookie sure found the right forever home with you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The cuteness of the piggie…I just melted.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.