Day of Rest

I’m told Sundays are supposed to be a day of rest. I’m not sure how that works when living on a farm, having livestock and working from home. Day of rest? That normally happens when I get sick. Thankfully, I haven’t had any “day of rest” sicknesses in a while. (knock on wood) With spring finally happening, there is far too much to do for resting!

Last night, Hubby and I bottled our black cherry wine, plus got our hard pink lemonade stabilized and clearing (bottle in 2 weeks….yummy!!).
That was after a day at the stable, feeding the Girls, making supper (hooray for crock pots doing 85% of the work), and cleaning the kitchen.

I was also going to do tomato and pepper seeds….oh, did I mention how I had started the seeds back on Spring Break? And how I forgot to water them, being busy and them being in the basement bathroom, and everything died? And how I have to re-start everything?!?
No?
Okay, well, I just did.
*sigh*

No rest for today either, because we’re working on the pig yard. Yup, we’re getting piglets. Just moments ago, I confirmed our request for 4 piggies. šŸ™‚ Pick up is supposed to be next Saturday, so we have some work to do! Mmmmmmm, a summer of raising piggies, and in the fall, they’ll go to Freezer Camp.
Oh, my smoker is going to be busy! šŸ˜€
I’m looking forward to it.

And now, onto some pictures…
Friday’s Hunt this week had the prompts, Starts with Q, Week’s Favorite, and At Rest.

Q is a tough letter…until I realized I had 3, probably 4 “q” in my pasture…
Quarter horses!
Most obvious is Astrid…she’s a grade quarter horse (meaning not registered with the American Quarter Horse Association) from Saskatchewan. How she ended up at auction in Manitoba and ultimately picked up by Rescue I don’t know.
Actually, I don’t care.
It put her on the road to us, so the how’s and why’s don’t much matter.
We’re happy to have Little Red here. šŸ™‚

"Oh, hello. Got any treats for me?"

“Oh, hello. Got any treats for me?”

Playing in the mud...

Playing in the mud…

Little Girl makes a low, quick turn and pours on the gas to chase Cookie...

Little Girl makes a low, quick turn and pours on the gas to chase Cookie…

She sure does love muddin'!

She sure does love muddin’!

She’s also a great big sweetie at times too…

Kisses and snuggles with a friend. :)

Kisses and snuggles with a friend. šŸ™‚

This week’s favorite are a few. No surprise there!

This one…

Later Cookie.  Enjoy your nap.  <3

Later Cookie.
Enjoy your nap.
ā¤

And this one…

"I'm so tired, Mom..."

“I’m so tired, Mom…”

Yeah, can’t help but love those. šŸ™‚
And then there were these two…

Oh Ruby!!  Should I just call you Mud-a-Roo?

Oh Ruby!!
Should I just call you Mud-a-Roo?

Cookie wasn't quite as bad as Ruby...but then, this is after I took the huge clumps of mud off her eyelashes.  Dork. <3

Cookie wasn’t quite as bad as Ruby…but then, this is after I took the huge clumps of mud off her eyelashes.
Dork. ā¤

And then there’s this one…

Biiiiig yawns!

Biiiiig yawns!

Not from last week, but still a favorite. I figured since I shared pictures of everyone else, I couldn’t leave Sable out. And, since the pictures of the others weren’t terribly flattering, it’s only fair to give you a yawning horse face for Sable’s picture. šŸ˜‰

Thursday, I looked out the front window to see this…

Erik the Viking at rest.

Erik the Viking at rest.

I’ll be honest, when I tapped the window and he didn’t so much as flick an ear, I got a little bit worried. I thought maybe he’d died. I grabbed the camera and Daphne, and out we headed to check on him.
Turns out, he was just having a good nap…

Still at rest, but kinda grumpy we woke him.

Still at rest, but kinda grumpy we woke him.

That face! Hahaha!! Just a little pissed at me for waking him up. I told him he was lucky I cared enough to make sure he was still alive. He didn’t care. šŸ˜›

Then there’s this guy…

Something about napping beside my garden boxes appeals to the cats.

Something about napping beside my garden boxes appeals to the cats.

We’ve named him Toby.

Sharing with Friday’s Hunt hosted by Teresa at Eden Hills.

6 thoughts on “Day of Rest

  1. lots of horsing around here

    Like

  2. Margaret says:

    The first horse is very handsome. I love the horses that are trying to have a sleep in the hay. The horse with his teeth showing is hilarious. I hope you will pop in and see my post this week so one till next week have a good one.

    Like

  3. I did chores this morning, then covered a half shift at work…then took a nap. Sometimes Sunday is for rest, lol, even on a ranch.

    And now another round of chores. Rest never lasts too long

    Like

  4. Teresa says:

    Great images. Love the muddy playing pictures! Thanks so much for joining in Friday’s Hunt. Hope you remember to take a bit of time to rest.

    Like

  5. Toosh says:

    Bacon and wine sounds delicious!
    You are in good company with seed starting: on Sunday Paul jiffied up milkweed for the Monarchs, 4 o’clocks, 3 kinds of tomato seeds, a lovely orange squash, to name a few!
    I think our animals do our resting for us šŸ˜› They really do look marvelous when in that blissful state of nap.
    But the mud baths… not much of a bath!!

    Like

  6. Blimey, those horses sure make a mess!

    Like

Comments are closed.