Water, Water Every Where!!

Remember I said Lake Midnight had receded?
Torrential downpours since Thursday evening have brought the Lake back. So much so that we have ducks swimming in the pasture (starts with p)…

Ducks in Lake Midnight

Ducks in Lake Midnight

At the top of the picture you’ll see 2 arrows…those are pointing to my fence posts. Just in case you didn’t believe me that those ducks were in my pasture. πŸ˜‰

One of my favorite pictures from this past week (week’s favorite) comes from before the rains.
You saw this one in a previous post…

Astrid ~ "Mom's here! Maybe she has treats!" Ruby ~ "Nope. She's got the beepy thing." Cookie ~ "Zzzzzzzzzz....."

Astrid ~ “Mom’s here! Maybe she has treats!”
Ruby ~ “Nope. She’s got the beepy thing.”
Cookie ~ “Zzzzzzzzzz…..”

My favorite part is this…

<3

❀

I love that tummy! When she’s flat-out like that, if I talk quietly, and don’t sneak, I can come up on her back side (never, ever hoof side!) and sit beside her. When I do that, I love lying over her side and rubbing that tummy. She just sighs and goes on sleeping.
It just goes to show how far her and I have come together…when she first came home, approaching her while lying down was impossible. Now, no biggie and I can be hands on with her too. ❀

With the rains, our internet was down yesterday, so I finished the preliminary run through on the Schooling Show images. From 1378 down to 238…sounds crazy, I know, but action is fast and furious, so I shoot the same and edit later. Now for a secondary edit, then fine tuning and finally, uploading to share.

I also had a chance to pick a few more shots of Astrid and Ruby playing in the previous incarnation of Lake Midnight…perfect in motion shots…

Astrid...testing the waters.

Astrid…testing the waters.

Ruby gets things started...

Ruby gets things started…

Splashing together...

Splashing together…

Astrid, getting up from trying to roll...she was so frustrated that she couldn't roll!

Astrid, getting up from trying to roll…she was so frustrated that she couldn’t roll!

Ruby tries have a drink form the splashes...

Ruby tries to have a drink from the splashes…

Astrid licks Ruby, while Ruby blows bubbles.

Astrid licks Ruby, while Ruby blows bubbles.

They’re like toddlers in a wading pool! πŸ˜€

Sharing with Friday’s Hunt hosted by Teresa at Eden Hills.

6 thoughts on “Water, Water Every Where!!

  1. send some to us, we could use a good rain.

    Like

  2. Teresa says:

    I love all those splashing in the water shots! I get how frustrating it is though. We’ve finally dried out for the first time in about ten months, and now I’m hoping for a bit of rain this week. Crazy how we seem to go from one extreme to the other. Thanks so much for linking up to Friday’s Hunt!

    Like

    • WolfSong says:

      I actually like all the water better than the mud/poop sludge. The water is so much easier than the muck on their hooves. Plus, great photos! πŸ˜‰
      And ain’t that the darn truth about the rain??
      I know this is all going to soak in and it won’t be long before I’m hoping for some rain to keep the pasture growing.

      Like

  3. nadsnovik says:

    Beautiful pics. That is a lot of water!

    Like

    • WolfSong says:

      Thank you!
      Yeah, it’s a lot, but it’ll soak in once all the frost is out of the ground, and we’ll have an explosion of grass growth. πŸ™‚

      Like

Comments are closed.