A Little Catching Up

Wow. 2 weeks since my last post.
Sorry ’bout that. We got a wee bit sideways here, and busy like mad. I had just about 2000 photos to edit this past week, between the Schooling Show that The Kid entered, and her drama production at school.
It’s a lot. lol. And I’m still not done…still another folder from the Show, and both nights of the production to do. Hopefully this week, I’ll finish them. I know folks are waiting to see.

I’ve also been spending a whole lot more time than usual with the horses. Our Sable has been lame. Poor Girl.
Every spring, I treat every hoof I can get in hand with Thrushbuster. Even before the melt starts, because I know full well, we’re gonna get mucky and swampy. It is, unfortunately, the nature of the land we bought. If I knew then what I know now….

Either way, I try very hard to pre-emptive strike every one to avoid thrush. I didn’t get to my Bella in time. 😦 And she ended up lame. So, daily (instead of weekly) Thrushbuster treatments, a lot of cleaning of her feet, some slow hand walking in the drier areas and finally, today, she’s not ouchy. We aren’t out of the woods yet, but, I think we’re ahead of it. And so, we’ll just keep on keepin’ on, until she’s 100%.

The plus side of this is that means everyone else gets reminded about hoof lifting manners. Astrid, my little sweetie, happily hands up her feet. Funny story for y’all…
I’m working hard with Cookie to establish the “Foot” combined with the tap behind the knee for her to lift her foot. It’s slow going, but, she’s always been a hard ass about handing up feet. Not that I let her get away with poor manners, it’s more of a reminder thing, how to do this properly and politely.
So, here I am, under Cookie, asking for her “Foot” and tapping her knee…she shifts to toe in anticipation of lift and I praise her. I tap, say “Foot” and lift her a few inches. And so on, until we, hopefully soon, get to the “Foot” and tap and she hands it up to me easy peasy.
On the other side of Cookie stands Astrid.
Astrid has this whole foot lifting thing down pat.
To her, it is easy peasy.
Well, one of my tap and “Foot” moments with Cookie, I look past her to see Astrid has lifted her foot.
I’m thinking “Really? Did she really just do that?”
Ask Cookie again, and yup, Astrid lifted. LOL!
Awesome Little Girl!!
Of course, once Cookie and I were done (always finish on a positive note!), I had to go and ask Astrid. Well, Missy had her foot up before I even had a chance to finish asking. That earned her a whole lot of praise. She really is a treasure, Ms Astrid is.
A lot of it has to do with how well-trained she was by her previous owner, but a good portion is also her personality. She really is a horse who enjoys people and enjoys doing what you ask of her. She thrives on positive attention, and responds the best to gentle correction. She’s a smart little mare, who is going to be a great riding partner for us. 🙂

And now, some pictures…because I know y’all don’t come here to read my rambling. Y’all want to see pictures of the Girls. 😛
I’ll also take this opportunity to do my Friday’s Hunt post.
Prompts this week are Starts with M, Week’s Favorite and Bird or Wings.

Starts with M is easy…Mares!

Cookie

Cookie

My Cookie, showing her modeling skills. She’s no Supermodel, like Sable, but then, she’s not much of a girly girl either.

My ever-so-helpful Sable.

My ever-so-helpful Sable.

This is what happens when I let the Palomino help me take pictures.
I think she might be an equine NoHelpian.

Ruby, trying to have a nap.

Ruby, trying to have a nap.

Ruby should know by now…nap near a fence, and a cat is going to stick their butt in your face. Sir Felix does love him some Paint. When he can’t love up his Girl, Ruby will do as a second.

Astrid napping on the fence.

Astrid napping on the fence.

Astrid has no problems with the cats rubbing on her while she naps-I ❤ that chin rested on the fence board!-but Felix was too busy with Ruby.

For Week’s Favorite I have 2…not because they are great shots, but because of what they represent.

A Certain Girl getting the shedding blade treatment...

A Certain Girl getting the shedding blade treatment…

A Certain Girl checking out the shedding blade...

A Certain Girl checking out the shedding blade…

Yep, that’s my Cookie getting a once over with the shedding blade.
I didn’t have to chase her, catch her, use the lead rope on her.
Nothing.
I walked up, let her have a sniff, ran it down her neck, showed her again, and then, moved to to her whole body. She sighed and stood like a Dream.
What.
A.
Difference.

Even from last year. Finally, the giant Dorkbag has learned that grooming feels good. 2 1/2 years to get it, but yeah, now she’s got it. That makes me so happy. A horse *should* enjoy being groomed. It shouldn’t be scary, or hard to stand for. Especially if they are healthy.
But, if a horse doesn’t have experience with it, doesn’t know why The Human keeps wanting to do this, then yeah, they don’t know. They just don’t know what to do with the hands on attention.
Cookie finally does.
And she likes it. 🙂

Even better, afterwards, Sable checked on her, to see if she was okay…

"You okay, Weirdo?" "Yeah, I think I finally understand why you're such a Mama Suck, Blondie." "Told you it feels good, Dork." "Shut up."

“You okay, Weirdo?”
“Yeah, I think I finally understand why you’re such a Mama Suck, Blondie.”
“Told you it feels good, Dork.”
“Shut up.”

Finally, Birds.
Oh, we have a few birds around right now. The Canada geese are back…have look!

Holy Geese!!

Holy Geese!!

That’s my back pasture. There’s easily over a 1000 geese out there.
Not a one can be invited to Freezer Camp though. 😦
If they were Snow, Blue or Ross geese, different story. But not Canadas. There is no 2nd hunting season for them.
And so, I have extended them a cordial invitation to return come the fall, where we will happily invite them to join us for soup.
We would love to have them over for soup.

Sharing with Friday’s Hunt hosted by Teresa at Eden Hills.

2 thoughts on “A Little Catching Up

  1. Teresa says:

    Poor feet. I have that problem here too. I need to see about tiling from my barnyard into the Back Forty. Or I need to build a bridge. Poor feet. Your girls are beautiful as always. Thanks so much for sharing with Friday’s Hunt.

    Like

  2. Toosh says:

    So that’s what Sable and Cookie talk about!! 🙂 Love it! Best poster chat ever.
    You have a national treasure in the pasture, with that population in the pasture. It’s nice to rely on the rhythm of the seasons with nature’s cues.

    Like

Comments are closed.