Monday Morning Roundup

Back on my old blog, before we bought the Farm, I used to do the Monday Morning Roundup…a post that covered our weekend activities. I was thinking, since we’re always busy on weekends here and there’s rarely time to blog, that bringing it here would be a great idea. 🙂

Saturday mornings are hectic, and this past one was no different. We’re getting ready to go to The Kid’s riding lesson, getting all the animals fed, setting up beet pulp for when we get home, finishing any odds and ends that need doing before we go…oh, and I try to squeeze in my Friday’s Hunt post. Really, I have to start posting it on Friday and updating the linky when it goes live. That would be soooo much easier! lol

The difference for this last Saturday, though, was we were going grocery shopping while Kid had her volunteer/theory time.
Since Hubby has spent his Saturdays helping on the house rebuild at the stable, he’s been doing groceries on Fridays, before he comes home. It’s been good for him. lol I don’t think he 100% realized how difficult it can be, sometimes, to make that grocery budget stretch enough to get everything everyone wants. Honestly, a lot of times, we don’t get everything that everyone wants. But, that’s life, right? I mean, I’d love to buy 10 lbs of cheese at a time, or a beef tenderloin or two…but, if the budget doesn’t allow, well, the budget doesn’t allow.

So, for the first time in a long time, I was getting to grocery shop. I had nearly $40 in cash back rewards from our local gas station, plus a $25 off a purchase of $150 coupon…I was a little excited to be able to get some extra $$$ off the groceries, and add to our basement stockpile. 🙂
By the time I was done, I had a huge cart load of groceries, and after all was rung up, I had saved just over $88, using my coupons and taking advantage of the store’s buy one get one offers.
With the $$$ we saved, we went down the street to our usual store and stocked up on a few other things that weren’t on sale at the first store.
Gotta say, felt pretty darn good loading the truck with a whole lot of groceries.

Then we headed back to the stable, to watch The Kid’s lesson.
That went really well. She and her lesson pal were doing jumps on their ponies, and all was good (even if I do hold my breath every time The Girls jump…can’t help it. It’s a Mama thing) until my Kid made a slow, unscheduled, less-than-graceful dismount.
She and her mount had a “Oh! We’re not gonna make it! Oh! We’re going anyways! Oh! Crap, we didn’t make it!” moment.
Both were okay, Kiddo popped up quick and easy, remounted, and they went through the series of jumps again…just to make sure they both had confidence in each other to get it done.

And then there was the ride home…whoooo…
Let’s just say, highways were so bad that if we hadn’t had to be home to feed the horses, we likely would have overnighted in the city. I’m sure Hubby will say I’m over reacting, saying that, but no, the roads were really bad. 😦

Sunday made up for it though! Holy, what a difference in weather!
+6*C, no wind, sunshine and melting…so nice to see the melt going on. That meant out I had to go with the camera.
But first, this…

It's a pig in a top hat!

It’s a pig in a top hat!

That hat is teeny tiny.
That pig is only 6 inches tall.
That hat has alligator clips under the brim.
That hat is going to sit on every pretty head in the pasture.
Why?
Because that hat is so damn cute I just can’t even…I mean really.
Just.
Can’t.
Even.

This happened...

This happened…

Astrid did not care. She was 100% fine with him being up there. ❤
This summer, Astrid will be back working under saddle. Yay!!
She does have some training (60 days with a reputable trainer for sure) but has been a pasture puff for the 2ish years she’s been here.
She is such a sweet Girl, so willing to please, having her ridable will be fantastic…and she loves the attention.

Cookie had a lay down for a bit...

Cookie had a lay down for a bit…

The Madam decided she wasn’t interested in wandering with the others and wanted to have a nap instead…

Just off wanderin'...

Just off wanderin’…

They’re restless. They’ve started to shed, they know spring is coming…they want hay, but don’t want hay. If I give them hay, they toss it around and mess in it…if I don’t give them hay, they wander like I’m starving them. As you can see ^^^ they are not hurting for food! They’ve got some good winter weight on them! 😉
I compromise, and give them hay in the trough, and tell them once that’s done, they can have more. If they don’t eat it, I don’t add more.
It’s warm. They don’t need the same huge amounts they did when it was really cold.

See what someone did?!?

See what someone did?!?

When I first edited the above image, I thought I saw a pile on the straw bale…I wasn’t sure, so I walked out there to check.
Yup, someone pooped right on the bale. Brat!

A good shake after having a nap. :)

A good shake after having a nap. 🙂

And our weekend ended with a bbq, and a few drinks on the deck.
So nice, sitting out there without having to bundle up in parkas and boots.

2 thoughts on “Monday Morning Roundup

  1. Laurel says:

    Oooh I heard all about the “pony bounce”. All fun and games till someone is off their pony! Glad she was OK!

    Like

  2. Toosh says:

    Love the piggy and the hat! And all the rest of course! The ups and downs, of the weekend. Glad it was all good, and so satisfying.

    Like

Comments are closed.