A Bit of Grooming

Last Spring I waded into the willow brush and chopped out all the burdock plants I could find. In the Fall, I did it again. I was hopeful that I had caught them all, and that would stop the spread of them. I very much dislike burrs. They get caught in manes, tails, and dog belly fur. None of which is fun to get them out of.

So, imagine my surprise when Ruby came out of the willows with a giant witch knot filled with burrs in her tail.
Her long, thick, gorgeous tail.
It was bad, let me tell you!
Like, so bad I thought I was going to have to cut her tail.
Her long, thick, gorgeous tail.
Did I mention her gorgeous tail? lol
See?

Ruby's long, thick, gorgeous tail. <3

Ruby’s long, thick, gorgeous tail. ❤

Thankfully, our Ruby happens to be a complete tramp when it comes to grooming. Brazen hussy. I wish I was kidding. lol!
Last week, before the blizzard hit, while she enjoyed her beet pulp, I stood at her hip, and picked burrs out of that long, thick, gorgeous tail. By the time I was done, I had about 80 burrs in my pocket. They went straight into the burn barrel…and I started a fire!
Yeah, I really dislike burrs.

Next grooming session I do with her, I will tackle those witch knots in her mane. Ahh, the joys of a long maned horse in a windy area.

Nice face, Ruby. :P

Nice face, Ruby. 😛

Fingers crossed I won’t have to cut them out.

15 thoughts on “A Bit of Grooming

  1. Gypsy Queen says:

    Hate burrs!!! Will she let you braid her mane?

    Like

  2. We show and compete year round, and we use WD-40 for situations like those. Works like a charm and is so much cheaper than commercial products.

    Liked by 1 person

    • WolfSong says:

      WD-40 stinks sooooo bad!
      Ugh. At this point, I’m willing to try anything so I don’t have to cut it. My Hubby will not be a happy camper to see parts of Ruby’s mane gone. He likes his Girl with the long, long mane and tail…funny how he’s not the one who has to get the witch knots out. 😛

      Liked by 1 person

      • maggiejv says:

        Try using baby oil. I use the gel kind all of the time. Works well and smells pretty good.

        Liked by 1 person

        • WolfSong says:

          I’ve used baby oil in the spring/summer. I agree, it smells much better. And, it’s cheap! Yay for dollar stores!
          But winter use is out. It’s way too cold here…learned last winter that baby oil will freeze.
          I think, if I’m going to get them out before spring, I’m stuck with the WD-40. I may just make Hubby do it! 😉

          Like

  3. brokenbarn says:

    She has an amazing mane and tail! What a beauty!

    Like

  4. Cowboy Magic. It is amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Toosh says:

    Burrs make so much work..,,

    Liked by 1 person

  6. She is gorgeous! Best of luck with her mane. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. lol I must be odd because I really like the smell of wd40! There are other conditioners, however. 🙂 Don’t cut, please don’t cut don’t cut dooooon’t!!! Think of all those poor sad broomtail appies out there! 😉

    I guarantee if you look up burdock and start using the roots herbally, thereby making it useful to you, it will disappear. 😉 At least, that’s how my life works. LOL

    Like

    • WolfSong says:

      LOL! Nope, I won’t cut it.
      I did go for the WD-40 this past weekend. Wore gloves to save my hands from the stink. 😉 Managed to get one side of the witch knots out before she’d had enough. So, I am happy that I won’t have to do anything other than give her a small trim. 🙂
      I love that long mane and tail so much, it would break my heart to have to cut it on her.

      I have heard that I should be using the root herbally, but I can’t get past those darn stickers being a pain. lol!

      Liked by 2 people

  8. Yay you go it put! Gorgeous girl with her gorgeous locks!

    Like

Comments are closed.