Land of Hopes and Dreams

Last week I got caught up in a conversation that caught me off guard, and when the judgements were flying, I took way too much of it to heart.
I don’t normally.
Mostly because I pretty much don’t care what most people think of me. I know that whatever I say or do, someone, some where, will have an opinion, a judgement…putting a lot of Farm life online, well, it’s going to happen. And, for the most part, I don’t worry about what someone else’s opinion is…

Oh, there are those, whose opinions matter. People I respect and love, who, if they told me I was screwing things up, I would listen to. In a heartbeat.

Anyways, I let this get to me, and I shouldn’t have. But I did, and I did the one thing I knew how to do.
I took a social media break.
I went out to the pasture armed with my camera and a Need to lean on my Girls. I took some glorious pictures, loved on the Girls, and even though I felt Peace in the pasture, I still came away unsettled. Grumpy. Injured.

And then, over the weekend, after having lunch with some good friends, as we headed home, the truck stereo played Bruce Springsteen’s Land of Hope and Dreams.
*sigh*
I ❤ The Boss.
When he sings, I listen…and this song has always Sung to me…

Grab your ticket and your suitcase
Thunder’s rollin’ down this track
Well, you don’t know where you’re goin’ now
But you know you won’t be back
Well, darlin’ if you’re weary
Lay your head upon my chest
We’ll take what we can carry
Yeah, and we’ll leave the rest

Big wheels roll through fields
Where sunlight streams
Meet me in a land of hope and dreams

Well, I will provide for you
And I’ll stand by your side
You’ll need a good companion now
For this part of the ride
Leave behind your sorrows
Let this day be the last
Tomorrow there’ll be sunshine
And all this darkness past

Big wheels roll through fields
Where sunlight streams
Oh meet me in a land of hope and dreams

This train…
Carries saints and sinners
This train…
Carries losers and winners
This train…
Carries whores and gamblers
This train…
Carries lost souls

I said this train…
Dreams will not be thwarted
This train…
Faith will be rewarded

I’ll take wisdom where ever I can find it.
Sunday night I found it with The Boss.
I rode that train to my land of hope and dreams. I sit here living my dream, with my saints and sinners, my losers and winners, my whores and gamblers, my lost souls…

SleepARoo... Napping while Hubby cleans around the feeders.

SleepARoo…
Napping while Hubby cleans around the feeders.

Astrid... One of the sweetest shots of the day. Peeking at me under Cookie's belly. <3

Astrid…
One of the sweetest shots of the day. Peeking at me under Cookie’s belly. ❤

Sable... My gorgeous pin~up Palomino. It is completely effortless for her to look this beautiful.

Sable…
My gorgeous pin~up Palomino. It is completely effortless for her to look this beautiful.

Cookie... My dear, sweet Darling and her "kissing spot".

Cookie…
My dear, sweet Darling and her “kissing spot”.

A blog reader called it that, her black spot just above her nostril, and I’ve used the term ever since. It’s perfect. I kiss that pretty face every chance I get, and that spot just begs for it. 🙂 And, Cookie herself often brings her muzzle up for it, knowing that it starts with a breath exchange, and ends with Mama putting kisses there.

Those are my lost souls…or, as a good friend put it, misunderstood souls in need of a little extra tlc.

In life, it’s really hard to keep yourself from getting caught up in all the mud-slinging and judgements people throw at us. Even when you are doing the best you can, there’s always going to be someone who will criticize. This break I took gave me a chance to step back, refocus, and remember myself.

This life I live, this life I chose, isn’t always easy, isn’t always fun.
I’m running a household, a business, and trying to build a sustainable Farm that provides for my family.
There isn’t endless amounts of time to do it all.
There isn’t endless amounts of money to do it all.

I’m lucky though, in that I have my Good Companion by my side, who stayed with me through all the sorrows and darkness.
I am a deeply flawed human. I know that. He knows it too, and loves me in spite of it…or maybe because of it. I don’t know.
What I do know is I have worked hard, on myself, and in my life, to get to this Land…our land of hope and dreams.
My Faith has been rewarded.
I’ve earned this.
And so have my Lost Souls.

6 thoughts on “Land of Hopes and Dreams

  1. neilirving says:

    Perfect post, beautiful pictures of beautiful horses and one of my favourite Springsteen songs 🙂

    Like

  2. […] through some Blogs I follow at lunchtime I was reminded of one of my favourite Bruce Springsteen songs and the […]

    Like

  3. suz says:

    excellent post and excellent song choice (among soooo many of his). saving your thots for whenever i need a little nub of inspiration, to keep on keeping on. –suz in ohio

    Like

  4. Isobel Anderson says:

    Never mind negativity-possibyl jealousy. What ever -I love that you found inspiration in a song .I do it all the time.

    Love Isobel

    ________________________________

    Like

  5. thorn says:

    Wolfie, as always, your words and spirit fill me with admiration.

    Like

  6. Jean-Pierre says:

    You are surrounded by beings who do not judge you, who don’t care if you’re tall or short, fat or slim, poor or rich, etc. What could be better. For what it’s worth, it’ll take animals over most people anytime. Have fun loving them and letting them love you and don’t worry about what “people” (including myself) may think or do say.

    Like

Comments are closed.