Pumpkin Eating Ponies

A while back, a friend gave us a pumpkin to share with The Girls. I put in a cool place, got a little busy, and it ended up sitting for a few weeks. Ooookay…more like a month.
Either way…I cut into it last week, scraped out the seeds for myself (yes, I’m greedy. I don’t share home roasted pumpkin seeds with horses. Or The Kid. Or Hubby.), and cut it into 4 pieces for the nags.

I waited until The Kid came home from school to hand it over to them, because I knew she’d want to see what the horses did with their pumpkin chunks. And, I took pictures…because I knew y’all would want to see too. 😉

Astrid came to the fence first...and rejected the pumpkin right away.

Astrid came to the fence first…and rejected the pumpkin right away.

“Uh, really? I’m supposed to eat that? You sure?”
She was not impressed.

Sable was next…

"Mmmmm. Pumpkin is nommie, Mommie!"

“Mmmmm. Pumpkin is nommie, Mommie!”

She had a great time chewing it. As long as I held it. Once it fell out of my hand, she was bored.
Goofball.

"Nom, nom, nom!"

“Nom, nom, nom!”

Cookie vibrated with glee, munching on that pumpkin chunk. When it fell, and Astrid tried to steal it…well, you can see, Cookie wasn’t letting anyone take her pumpkin…

"Mine! I'm not sharing!"

“Mine! I’m not sharing!”

She ate just about half that chunk, before wandering away from it. 🙂

Ruby waited until everyone was done, then enjoyed her piece while the sun went down.

"Mmmmm! Pumpkin! Woulda been better if Mom had put some brown sugar on it though..."

“Mmmmm! Pumpkin! Woulda been better if Mom had put some brown sugar on it though…”

Sharing with Jenny Matlock’s Warm Heart Wednesday.
Even though the pumpkin was given to us a while ago, cutting it up and sharing with the Girls last week reminded me what wonderful friends we have, and that warmed my heart. 🙂

11 thoughts on “Pumpkin Eating Ponies

  1. paws2smile says:

    Too cute! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Christy Paws says:

    Mom says seeing this post was perfect timing. She got a couple of small pumpkins for decorations at Thanksgiving. She didn’t really want to just toss them in the compost when they were done and now she knows what to do with them!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your horses are so adorable
    How did u get them to eat the pumpkin since I tired with my horses and I think they still haven’t even touched it.

    Like

    • WolfSong says:

      I started out by giving them small pieces. Small enough that they could take the whole thing in their mouth to chew. I also tossed the small chunks in their beet pulp. I did that for a few days, and then gave them the bigger chunks.
      Astrid still isn’t a fan of it, unless I sprinkle some brown sugar on it-which defeats the purpose of giving her a low sugar treat. lol!

      Like

  4. Jim says:

    I know horses like apples. Thanks for sharing their likes for pumpkins. I broke (off) a tooth getting a bite from an apple.
    Sooo, I think trying to get bites from the pumpkin is too hard for him. Please cut them up better, or at least into slices. He hasn’t made much progress yet here.
    BTW, I rode my horse, Minnie, to high school until I could drive my junior year at age 14. She didn’t eat pumpkins. The hay? She folded it up into her mouth and chewed it up. The apples? Small ones she put the whole thing into her mouth. She didn’t take bites off the big ones or even put them into her mouth. I had to cut them to bite size.
    ..

    Like

  5. jesh stg says:

    What an adventure! And they make for pics with great memories:)

    Like

  6. Betty says:

    I didn’t realize any horse would eat pumpkins! Guess they can be fussy eaters? Enjoyed your pictures.

    Like

  7. Your horses are darling. So funny how each reacted to the pumpkin. 🙂
    The View from the Top of the Ladder

    Like

  8. Judie says:

    What lovely horses! They have a nice pumpkin treat, eh??

    Like

  9. Jeanne says:

    Enjoyed sharing this treat with you and the girls

    Like

Comments are closed.