Warm Heart Wednesday

The last little while, we’ve been so busy I ran very behind on my favorite weekly link up…Alphabe-Thursday. When I finally returned to Ms Jenny’s blog to catch up, I learned that this past round was to be the final one. 😦 While I will miss Alphabe-Thursday, and the unique writing challenges it offered, I understand Ms Jenny’s need to take care of her own health.
But…she has offered up a new linkup for Wednesdays. One that helps us count our blessings, no matter how big or small. One that reminds us, in the Darkness there is always a teensy spark of Light, if we remember to look for it.
I think I will enjoy participating in this link up too. 🙂

So, here we are, Warm Heart Wednesday (a day late, no surprise with me!) to share the little thing that warmed my heart last week…

It starts with this picture:

Sable

Sable

A fabulous portrait of our beautiful Blonde Girl…only, I didn’t plan to do a portrait session with her. I was coming out to the pasture to take pictures of the straw bale extension we’re building onto the shelter for winter. Sable saw me coming, popped her head over the fence and smiled. How could I resist taking that shot? Ears forward, beautiful face, perfect light…I’d be a fool to let the moment pass by.

And then, this happened…

Cookie

Cookie

This one is not a fan of the camera. This one is not a fan of much of anything…except Mama. She’s my Mama’s Girl. When she saw me, she trotted over to the gate, popped her head over and nickered to me.
I cannot express how good that makes me feel. That nicker at the gate, that face that’s so happy to see me (and I didn’t even have treats!), that face that waited right there for me to take the picture and come to kiss her.

2 years later, and I am still moved to tears that this horse, who was so un-horse-like when she came, so shut down, has responded to me with love and trust.

She’s my Girl.
She’s my Blessing.
She’s my wee spark of Light.

Sharing with Jenny Matlock’s Warm Heart Wednesday.

8 thoughts on “Warm Heart Wednesday

  1. Anne says:

    Precious photos. There is no animal as kind as a horse. I know they use them for therapy. They use hem with children and adults with disabilities. How much kinder can one by? My grandmother’s cousin had a horse when I was a child and he would let m feed him sugar cubes and carrots. Oh what a sweet memory you conjured up for me. Thank you for this share. I am going to like this new party. Have a wonderful weekend.

    Like

  2. Isobel Anderson says:

    Thanks you for warming my heart . Love these horses . So beautiful. Love Isobel Date: Thu, 19 Nov 2015 22:25:31 +0000 To: isabella6643@hotmail.com

    Like

  3. How wonderful that you have these beauties to enjoy. Your photos of them are lovely.

    Like

  4. I love the hello nickers! Makes my entire day! Beautiful babies.

    Like

  5. Yours is a sweetheart of a post. It’s no wonder that your Mama’s girl opened up.
    The View from the Top of the Ladder

    Like

  6. You have such beautiful horses
    I especially love cookie and love how she’d nicker at you to say hello

    Like

  7. Such beautiful horses! I love their eyes, always seem so warm and loving. (BTW, you weren’t the only one posting on Thursday!)

    Like

  8. This is such a beautiful post! I love the way horses eyes express their emotions! Thank you for sharing your joy! It certainly gave me a warm heart this week! And remember, you can link anytime during the week. XOXO

    Like

Comments are closed.