We Went A-Rodeo-In

To take pictures that is.
That’s where I’ve been all week…instead of posting here on the blog, I’ve been editing rodeo pictures.
After 2 days of shooting, I had 1841 images to process.
First run through has me down to 302 images left.
I have a file of 50 images, so far, that are definite keepers. Here’s a few of them…

Canadian Flag bearer from Sunday's opening ceremonies.

Canadian Flag bearer from Sunday’s opening ceremonies.

Mutton Bustin!! So. Freakin'. Cute! :D

Mutton Bustin!!
So. Freakin’. Cute! 😀

One of Saturday’s barrel racers…One of my favorite shots of the day!

After the ride...I was torn on whether or not to share this one. It's a powerful image, and yet, it feels like I, as the photographer, am intruding on the rider's pain.

After the ride…I was torn on whether or not to share this one. It’s a powerful image, and yet, it feels like I, as the photographer, am intruding on the rider’s pain.

Saddle Bronc Sunday.

Saddle Bronc Sunday.

Freedom!!!

Freedom!!!

One of the many talented Barrel racing Ladies on her run Home...

One of the many talented Barrel racing Ladies on her run Home…

I’m still working on edits from Sunday’s shoot, but, I also finished this:

Dorkite

Dorkite

When it’s a piece for me, it’s called “Dorkite” because Dork is my pet name for my Cookie. Dorkite are those special pieces that I just can’t let go of. This one is from the first trim that she handed our trimmer Michele her foot. It’s a pretty special piece, because before that, no matter how she tried, Cookie couldn’t get a proper balance to hold her foot up long enough for Michele to get a good trim on her. This piece is from a break through trim, after months of me asking for, getting, and helping Cookie figure out how to balance herself of 3 feet all over again. I was pretty damn proud of her, and so too, was Michele. And so, this is my piece.

Set with an emerald, in 14k gold, I was thrilled to finally finish it, and put it on. 🙂

Now onto my next pieces…an order from a father/daughter duo, who want pendants from their paint mare. They’ve given me 4 pieces of hoof to work with, and carte blanche to create any sort of pendant that pops into my head.
Nice.
I love that kind of freedom in a commission. 🙂

2 thoughts on “We Went A-Rodeo-In

  1. Toosh says:

    Love the Freedom feeling.

    Like

  2. gail says:

    dorkite piece is beautiful. hope to see the pieces you’re currently working on.

    Like

Comments are closed.