SHS~August 2nd

Holy Moly!!
It’s August already…where has the time gone?
Summer is half over already, and we haven’t gotten half our to-do list done. Looks like we’d better get our butts in gear…and the weather best start cooperating too. πŸ˜‰

Prompts for this week are Low Angle, Home Made, Light, Waiting, and A Chore.

I took some photos off farm this week. Every week, The Kid goes to a riding stable for her lesson, and this week, I brought my camera along. I used to take a lot of pictures there (and I do mean A. LOT!), but since we moved to the farm, when Kid has her lesson, it’s our chance to get grocery shopping done. 95% of the time we get back to the stable to catch her ride, so I don’t miss out on that. Which is great, because her riding skills have improved greatly. But I do miss out on taking pictures.

First two are shots from home…

Low Angle

I was sitting on the ground, just outside the fence, to catch this lovely low angle shot of Sable…

Peeking SableThankfully, this was far away from the water, because otherwise, she would have spit water aaallll over me. That’s just how she is.

Home Made

For this, you get a decent shot of Cookie’s home-made leather crown on her breakaway halter…

And, a lovely shot of the Miss herself.

And, a lovely shot of the Miss herself.

It came with a simple tan one, but I decided she needed something a wee bit fancier. Pink leather, with an all over fish print on it. Not fish scales, but fish drawings. It’s cheesy, it’s tacky, it’s awesome. πŸ™‚

Light

Ahhh, now we get into the shots I took off farm. These are taken in the barn, where the light is not exactly perfect for photos. To be fair, it’s not set up for photographers, but for what’s best for the horses.That’s how it should be, right? That means I have to adapt my skills to make a good shot work. I can do that. πŸ™‚

Sometimes, that means popping off a flash...

Sometimes, that means popping off a flash…

Poor Surprise! I really did surprise him with the flash…as you can see! Caught him with a mouth full of grain. I made up for it with an ear scratch though.

I try not to use the flash very often, because I never know if a horse will take exception to it. I’m only a visitor, and the last thing I want to do is upset any equines.

This fellow, however, didn’t mind it at all…

What a cutie!

What a cutie!

After this shot I figured, let’s try a long shutter speed and see what we get. I’ve been wanting to play with daytime long exposure shots. Perfect chance! Most didn’t turn out. But luckily, there was one…

The New Horse2I really like the way this one turned out!
I dropped the iso to 400 (typically, in the barn, I use 1600 or higher, depending on if the lights are on or if there’s more natural light) and set the shutter for 5 seconds. Likely, the shot would have been better if I had used a tripod, but for a hand-held shot, this turned out pretty damn awesome, if you ask me.
And yes, that’s a coffee cup in the person’s hand. Horses love coffee y’know…he was having a real good sniff of that cup, until my bringing the camera up caught his attention.

A Chore

A chore that is done every day at the barn is the bringing in of the horses from the pastures. I like to call it The Running of the Horses. I also like to photograph it.

Running of the Horses1
Running of the Horses2I will admit, this is far more impressive in the winter. As the big door opens, the steam from the heat of the barn meeting the cold outside air adds an amazing element.

Waiting

Once all the horses are in, I have to wait for The Kid to finish up her after-ride work, so we can go home and I can process the pictures I took. Sometimes I give the images a quick review while I’m waiting…I really should invest in a good laptop. Then I could sit in the barn’s lobby and process right away. No waiting to get home. πŸ™‚

The Running of the Horses

Inverted colors, to make for The Running of the Ghost Horses.

Inverted colours, to make for The Running of the Ghost Horses.

Sharing with Scavenger Hunt Sunday hosted by Ashley Sisk.

4 thoughts on “SHS~August 2nd

  1. Sherrie says:

    Hi!
    Great shots. Love the “Ghost” shot. Have a great day!

    Like

  2. Pieni Lintu says:

    Horses are beautiful!

    Like

  3. Christy Paws says:

    Really nice photos! Mom’s horse is a palomino too.

    Like

  4. Tamar says:

    Having spent some time this weekend around horses I find these even more gorgeous! Fantastic all around!

    Like

Comments are closed.