SHS~June 21st…The First Day of Summer!

Summer. It’s so lovely…6 months ago all we could do was Dream of summer. Now, it’s here, and we’re working hard to get things done and ready for the next winter.

Hope all the Dads out there had a great Father’s Day.
Hubby’s Father’s Day included hooking up the 6 ft mower and cutting some grass…which made the horses super happy, since we rake it and toss it over the fence for them…and then a relaxing bbq with a beer or 2 on the deck.

I planted a whole bunch of stuff in the garden. I’ll spend the rest of the week finishing that up, and then, like always, we wait. It is, really, a leap of faith, planting these seeds, hoping, hoping, to have growth, and food.

Kid worked with her Sable. Ms Sable was a rock star yesterday! She lunged walk/trot with ease for The Kid. Both are getting more and more confident working with each other. It’s great to see. Next up, Kid will work her up to walk/trot/canter. Sable isn’t confident enough yet, for that canter in lunging. It’ll come. πŸ™‚ I have faith in them both.

Prompts this week for Scavenger Hunt Sunday are…Special, Habit, Explore, Me, and Sprinkle.

Special

Sable 061715Sable is our special girl. We are so very lucky to have met her, and been able to bring her Home. This is the girl we go to for horsie hugs, for those times you need a mane to cry in, for unconditional love. She’s the one that people who are hurting gravitate to in our pasture. Heck, she’s the one our (formerly) broken horse gravitates to. πŸ˜‰
She is a once-in-a-lifetime horse. That’s how special our Sable is.

Habit

HabitNow that the bugs have emerged, the black birds make it a habit to follow the Girls around. Y’see, if they do, the Girls kick up mosquitoes and the birds get an easy meal. I think it’s a pretty darn good habit. So do the Girls. πŸ™‚

Explore

Storm, Xena and Penny

Storm, Xena and Penny

These are Fiona’s kittens. Fiona is our little Siamese barn cat who was dumped in our yard by some jerk as a wee kitten.

ExploreThey’re getting old enough now to explore and eat crunchy food. Some days, between these 3 and PoloCat’s 6, it can be a real rodeo to get everyone fed. Everyone wants it now, and they don’t want to wait. Climbing the arm of the person with the food is a very real possibility!

Me

I so don’t do the selfie/in front of the camera thing. lol! Instead, you get a picture of someone who is very special to me

Yup, it's Cookie. <3

Yup, it’s Cookie. ❀

This is from last week. I had taken my coffee to sit out on the deck in the morning, and she came walking over to me, expressing her displeasure at me for not sharing my cup with her. I love that she is becoming more and more vocal with me. It turns out she likes to talk, and I love that she likes to talk to me. πŸ™‚

Sprinkle

I planted a bunch of stuff in the garden last night in the hopes of getting it in before the rains came. That way, the sprinkle we were supposed to get could do the watering in for me. Well, as it turns out, we got much, much more than a sprinkle of rain!

SprinkleI know it’s hard to see in the picture, but there is a gray haze over everything…that’s the rain coming down. Hard. I was actually worrying about the peppers I transplanted. I did dash out and check on them…so far, so good! They seem to be enjoying the rain they’re getting.
Plus…just look at all that green! Some of the grass out there is higher than the Girls’ knees.
I swear, I’ll never take growing grass for granted again! lol.

Sharing with Scavenger Hunt Sunday hosted by Ashley Sisk.

