D is for Dreams

When we started this journey into country living/farm life/homesteading, we had an area we wanted to live in. It was the part of our province that called to our Spirits. It’s an area where we-The Hubby and I-spent a lot of our time together early in our lives together. Hiking, hunting, enjoying the outdoors. That’s where we wanted to put down our farmer roots and grow.

We found an amazing property early in the search. Well, actually I found it listed on a “farms for sale” website about 2 years before we were ready. I drooled over it, I showed it to Hubby, he drooled over it, and we Dreamed. Life stuff going on around us kept us from even considering calling the agent. We could hardly consider selling our city house and run away to the country when my Mom was dealing with ovarian cancer, now could we?

And then, when things all settled out, and we were free to think about *us* again, I looked for the property online. My heart broke when I couldn’t find it. That Dream was done.

One day, though, in passing I had mentioned this Dream place to the agent we were working with to find our farm, and she said she’d do some digging and see if there was any news on the place. Well, turns out, the owner was just back from her winter hiatus, and was getting ready to re-list the property.
Oh, the Dream was back!!
Our agent got us a showing, and 45 minutes later, we pulled into the yard.
Oh.
My.
Gawsh.

Huge 3 bedroom farmhouse, 320 acres already fenced for cattle, 200 acres of it bushland. Deer in the pasture as we pulled in, out buildings galore…an old dairy barn, 2 calf sheds, several smaller shed structures good for workshops, hay storage, tack sheds…it was amazing! All well under our budget, even with the $10k price increase for having a new furnace installed.
I stepped out of the vehicle, and felt like I was home.

At the end of the day(s) (we had more than 1 showing of the property), Hubby and I came down to the painful decision that this place was not meant to be for us. 😥 He still had to work in the city, and the drive would have been prohibitive for him. Now he’s on the road roughly an hour each way to get to work and back…this place would have added and extra 30 minutes each way, and no guarantees he could have gotten to work in winter. The gravel road out front of the place was not as well-traveled as the one we live on now.

Anyways, for the past year and a half, I have wondered if this Dream property ever sold.
Not that I’m unhappy where we are…not at all! I love this place…we have 80 acres, pasture for the Girls, it’s close for Hubby to go back and forth to work, and it was in our budget.
It’s Home.
But, you always wonder, right?

Last night, flipping through a local real estate magazine, and I saw it. The Dream property, still for sale, back down to the original price of $175k.
We laughed, and went over all the reasons why we didn’t buy it in the first place, and settled on the last one…the old gal who owns it wasn’t ready. I doubt she’s ready to sell now, she just lists it (in obscure places) to appease her daughter, who worries about her Mama in the middle of nowhere by herself. Fair enough. But I don’t think the place will actually sell until the old gal herself passes on, and considering how happy she is there, that’s for the best.

For us, well, for me, it will always be my Dream property. One day, someone else will live their Dream on it, because the only way we could, is if we won the lottery, and Hubby didn’t have to work. 😉 I doubt that will happen.

D is for Dreams

Sharing with Jenny Matlock’s Alphabe-Thursday.

4 thoughts on “D is for Dreams

  1. You never know. You might be living there yet. 🙂
    The View from the Top of the Ladder

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sarah says:

    It’s good to dream. I’ve long dreamed of having a home on Nantucket Island. It will never happen, but it’s still fun to dream. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Teresa says:

    Dreaming is certainly good. I know I spend a fair share of my time dreaming about where I want to go with my farm and life.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ah.

    You always know when some place is home! Even when it’s just in a dream!

    I find many properties like this…

    And I always dream big about them, too.

    Thanks for sharing this delightful link for the letter D.

    A+

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.