C is for Cookie’s Gemstone Name

The past 2 weeks, we have been running a contest to find the gemstone name for Cookie’s hoof clipping jewelry. If you look at the Results! post, you’ll see, we had a tie in voting…between Cookillium and Midnight Meteorite.

We turned to the Camouflage hat to determine the winning name…

I printed the 2 names 10 times each.

I printed the 2 names 10 times each.

I figured 10 of each name would give a fair shot to both names in the drawing.

The Kid is always the one who does the draw...

The Kid is always the one who does the draw…

I made her get out of bed early to do this…not a happy Girlie. Oh well. 😛

Our winner!!

Our winner!!

There’s the winning name, suggested to us by Paul…

Midnight Meteorite

Congratulations Paul!!

Cookie thanks you all for not suggesting names that call her a Dork...like her Mama does. ;)

Cookie thanks you all for not suggesting names that call her a Dork…like her Mama does. 😉

We’ll be in touch with Paul shortly to get his prize to him.

In the meantime, the Board at Midnight Calico Farm has discussed the contest, and have decided that everyone who’s suggestion made it to the final 6 will receive a pendant of our choosing.
So, watch your emails folks, we’ll be in touch in the next couple of days to get your info and send out your prize. 🙂

C is for Cookie’s gemstone name, contest, and congratulations!

Sharing with Jenny Matlock’s Alphabe-Thursday.

11 thoughts on “C is for Cookie’s Gemstone Name

  1. Both are neat names. I’m glad I didn’t have to choose. 🙂 Your way of picking a winner was quite fair.
    The View from the Top of the Ladder

    Liked by 1 person

    • WolfSong says:

      In cases where we can’t possibly decide fairly, we always defer to the Hat. lol! It’s the best way, I’ve found. 🙂

      Like

  2. Christy Paws says:

    Congratulations to the winner! Looks like mom’s suggestion came in 3rd!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Toosh says:

    😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Paul says:

    I’m very happy, thank you! I hope Cookie likes her gemstone name, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • WolfSong says:

      She thinks you were much nicer about name choices than I was, that’s for sure. 😉
      *I* thought Idiotite and Dorkesium were perfect for her, but she was not impressed.

      Like

  5. Betty says:

    I’m glad you finally have a name. What is hoof clipping jewelery? I’m a city girl. Is it something that goes on the horse’s hoof or do you make some kind of jewelery out of what you clip off the hoof…assuming hoofs get clipped. I’m kind of lost here. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • WolfSong says:

      Hi Betty, great question!!
      Every 4-6 weeks, horses need to have their hooves trimmed. Much like we humans need to trim our finger and toe nails.
      As it turns out, when cleaned up and dried, the pieces cut off have, what I think is a very interesting structure/look to them.
      So, I cut them to show off the beauty of the hoof, polish, and set into jewelry.
      I liken the clipping jewelry pieces to fine pearls…Organic gemstones, each one beautiful, each one unique.
      I have a few pieces left over from the trade show/expo we attended this past weekend, and will be creating a page with them for sale (with pictures, of course!) so you can take a look at how amazing they are. 🙂

      Like

  6. I’m glad you answered that question about the hoof clipping jewellery too! Great name choice!
    Wren x

    Like

  7. Wow. I’ve never heard of this but I’m impressed at your creativity. I’d like to see a picture!

    And what a fun contest!

    Thanks for linking this interesting post to the letter C.

    A+

    Like

Comments are closed.