Y is for YES!!!

We’ve gotten some rain. Started yesterday afternoon, and as I type this, it’s still coming down.
We’ve needed it.
The ground and plants are thirsty!
So, even though we need dry weather to keep working outside, the land needs the water, and well, for pasture growth, I’ll take a little wet.
Yes, I sure will.

When I stepped out this morning, I knew full well I would be met with muddy horses. Surprisingly, no one was terribly cranky. Oh, but the mud!

MudaRoo

MudaRoo

When the sun comes back out, Ruby will love the grooming she gets to clean up all that mud. I may even braid that mane up for her. For sure, I will brush it out, and put some Mane and Tail into it.

MudaCoo

MudaCoo

Came around the corner of the shelter this morning to find Cookie having a nap. You can’t even see her white mark on her neck for all the mud!

"Mom...you know I don't like the wet!"

“Mom…you know I don’t like the wet!”

Little bit of grumpy ears. She doesn’t care for being all over wet and muddy…could be because she knows full well Mama’s going to lead rope her and make her stand for a grooming. 😉

MudaStrid

MudaStrid

You know it’s a wet muddy mess when even Astrid looks a mess like this…her coat really hides the dirt well.
Not like this one:

MudaMino!

MudaMino!

Ahh, but Sable stands so well for grooming…and everything else. I don’t worry about her being muddy. I know she’ll be the easiest of the 4 to get cleaned up.

Green!

Green!

Even the trees started to pop with this rain. The grass is growing.
For how much came down since 2am, I am stunned that there are no puddles. That tells me just how thirsty everything has been.

Poplar trees

Poplar trees

Greening Pasture3Those little trees in the front are trying really hard to come back. Despite what the Beaver Horses did to them last Spring. They have leaf buds. I am hopeful. If we can get the cross fencing in, this part of the pasture will be closed off to the horses until there is much, much more growth.

Greening Pasture4Since moving out here, I think my new favorite color is green. Green is good! Means the Girls are moving away from hay. It’ll be nice to see enough growth that they are on pasture until the fall.

One of the apple trees

One of the apple trees

This tree is not in the pasture! It wouldn’t survive a second if it was. No, this is one of the apple trees we planted last year. I’ll let it blossom for the photo opportunity, but, once apples start, I’ll knock them off, so the tree can put its energy into growing, not fruiting.

Cookie and the greening pasture.

Cookie and the greening pasture.

And finally, the main raised garden bed is finished! Well, the build part. We still have paper, manure and topsoil to put into it. Then, soon enough, we’ll be planting.

main garden bed

Short side (only 24ft), view from my back deck. 🙂

Yes!!
Y is for Yes.
Sharing with Jenny Matlock’s Alphabe-Thursday.

6 thoughts on “Y is for YES!!!

  1. Teresa says:

    So glad you’re getting the much needed rain! Looks like you’re making a lot of progress.

    Like

  2. Heather says:

    We need some rain too even though I’m loving the warm, sunny days! Beautiful horsies!

    Like

  3. crowjudith says:

    The photo of the Poplar trees is just beautiful!

    Like

  4. Betty says:

    Glad you’re getting some needed rain. Do the horses roll in the mud? I guess you have a big job ahead of you!

    Like

  5. Sounds like your horses were happy about the rain, too. Rain started in the morning for us. I heard it still raining around midnight. The hills looked pretty happy around us. So were we.
    The View from the Top of the Ladder

    Like

  6. jesh stg says:

    Ruby has my favorite “look” although Cookie is striking as well. Of course this is a superficial first impression:)

    Like

Comments are closed.