U is for Upset

We had a few upset animals this past week…

Mip and Polo

Mip and Polo

These 2 were upset that I wasn’t fast enough to get them their morning cream. Yep, spoiled brats they are! They come up to the house every morning, sing me the Song of Their People, and they get a little cream to share. Cats think this should happen as they demand it, not as I get the chance to do it.

Astrid, Ruby and Cookie

Astrid, Ruby and Cookie

These guys were upset because we had a mini freak snow storm. As far as they’re concerned, the grass should be growing, and they shouldn’t have to eat the hay. Crankiness set in when Mother Nature dropped a scant centimeter of snow on the pasture.

Ruby and Cookie

Ruby and Cookie

Cookie was upset yesterday because I came into the pasture while Ruby was laying down. I always approach the Girls while they are down…safely of course. I figure if someone goes down hurt, I want them used to me coming up to them and not panicking. Cookie tried to drive me away from Ruby-yeah, like that’s going to work! Not! Dork-so Ruby could enjoy her nap.
Silly Cookie. Ruby likes a back rub when she’s lying down. πŸ˜‰
If you look close at the picture, you’ll see, Cookie is standing on Ruby’s tail!

Sable

Sable

This one…oh, this one was upset because I had to tend to yet another wound on her leg. She’s a very good patient, but rinsing the wound is not something she enjoys, and she tries to avoid it. Uh, no. It gets done, thankfully, without a rodeo too. πŸ˜‰ Once all is cleaned and treated, she’s right back to her snuggly self.

Boo boo before cleaning and treatment...

Boo boo before cleaning and treatment…

Boo boo after cleaning and treatment...

Boo boo after cleaning and treatment…

We typically clean and treat wounds like this twice a day, and leave it uncovered to heal. Truthfully, since it’s on her knee, there’s no real way to wrap it anyways. So, I cover it with a light coat of a+d cream…which is basically petroleum jelly with vitamins a and d added. Works very well to heal wounds like this (tattoos too! πŸ˜‰ ) because it doesn’t sting, it protects from dirt, and it promotes healing without causing proud flesh. Good thing for a horse who gets hurt a lot!

U is for Upset

Sharing with Jenny Matlock’s Alphabe-Thursday.

3 thoughts on “U is for Upset

  1. Looks like everyone is healthy for the most part. I didn’t know about A+D cream – I’ll tuck that away for next time someone gets cut…

    Like

  2. Interesting to read about your slice of life…β™ͺ

    Like

  3. Betty says:

    I couldn’t help but wonder where you are since there’s still some snow. Sounds like you’re taking good care of everyone. When my kids were little I used A & D Ointment on diaper rash. I’m sure the horse will heal just fine. It always worked on my kids.

    Like

Comments are closed.