M is for Mares

Since we have a some new followers (*waves* Hi! Welcome, and thanks for joining us!), I thought Alphabe-Thursday’s “M” would be the perfect time to re-introduce the Girls. Who is who, where they came from and how they came to join our family. I’m going to do this in alphabetical order, so no one thinks I favor 1 mare over another. I love them all for their uniqueness.
Grab a cup of coffee, relax, and get ready to meet the Mares of Midnight Calico Farm! πŸ™‚

First up, Astrid.

AstridAstrid is a young Quarter Horse mare, who came to us via a friend. Astrid’s story can be read here.
Based on her teeth, we estimate her age to be in the 4-5 year old range. Over the summer, we noticed her canines were erupting. Which explained some of her grumpiness with the humans. Teeth coming in can hurt!

Astrid is our youngest mare, with some training on her. She’s been ridden, Kid has done lunge work with her, and she’s very good with her feet. πŸ™‚ She’s so good with her feet, that I can tap the back of her knees on the front and say “Foot” and up it comes. She did have a backslide with her last trim, but that was my fault. I short-changed her on working time, so I’ve made an effort to make sure she gets the attention she needs too. Happily, I have seen fabulous results. Astrid is a love bug, and really needs a ton of hands on time.
She’s willing and happy to do as the humans ask, and is very much a pocket pony. Astrid is also the one our barn cat Mip loves! As you’ve seen here. This summer, Hubby’s plan for her is to continue her training. Once we have the round pen built, she’ll be saddled, and we’ll work her up to being ridden again.

Right now, Astrid’s place in the herd is 3rd. She’s trying, really hard, to take over the Lead Mare spot, but, she hasn’t been able to knock Ruby off the top yet. πŸ™‚

Next…Cookie.

Cookie 020915Cookie is a coming 10-year-old APHA mare. She’s been used as a broodie, she has very basic training, and is my special girl. She’s our second in command in the herd.

Cookie is the one I fell in love with at first sight. Before we bought the farm, I was surfing the adoptable page at Blackbird Ranch Foster Care and Rehab. That’s when I first saw her, that’s when I knew she was mine. If we hadn’t bought the farm (haha!) I would have had to get a full-time day job and pay for boarding…I was not letting this girl go!!

She started out life here as Nicki, but it was clear that was not her name. Call her and she’d turn and walk away. Finally, one day, I had enough of trying to catch her, just stopped and said to her “You’re gonna be a tough cookie to crack, aren’t ya?” Well, those ears perked up and she bobbed her head at me! It was the first time I had seen some light in this girl’s eyes. Something I said hit a spot in her. So I went over the sentence again, saying each word a few times, until we got to Cookie. There it was, the head bob again. So said to her, “Is that your name? Cookie?” She replied with a nicker…the first vocalization I had heard from her since coming Home. That was it, I knew, Cookie was her name.

She’s a challenge. I don’t know a lot about her history. I know she’s been used as a broodie, and I know she’s had some rough treatment somewhere. But, I also know that someone, somewhere, really loved her. She has days where we click and she’s my perfect pocket pony. Looks like horse, stick like glue. Does whatever I ask, no fear, no problems.
Other days, well, she comes unglued, and can’t handle much of any hands on stuff. She still doesn’t understand grooming.Β  Like I said in the “L” post, this one needs Mama to carry all the confidence for both of us, because sometimes, out of no where, she loses hers, and needs me to help bolster her courage. She’s my work in progress…when we get where we’re going (wherever that is) we’re going to be amazing together. πŸ™‚

Next up, Ruby.

RubyGirlAhh, our Ruby! Our unicorn in disguise! She’s our lead mare! She’s strong, confident, happy, willing to work with you on her terms, and just the prettiest little girl ever. Well, she’s not little, but she sure is pretty. πŸ™‚ We estimate her age around 5-6 years old. She has her canine teeth in, so we know she’s older than Astrid, but that time frame between 5 and 10 is so tough to pin down when you have little to no background on a horse. Aside from being a Paint, we have no real way of knowing her breed. My best guess, based on her build, is Quarter Horse based paint. She came with no papers, no info of where she’s from, nothing. So, your guess is just as good as mine!

Ruby also came to us through Blackbird Ranch. Hubby fell in love with her, and she’s his Girl, 100%. The Kid and I will do, in a pinch, but she’ll choose him over us any day. She has some training, how much, we don’t know. We know she’s been ridden, we know she can go walk/trot/canter comfortably. That’s about it. So, we go slow and steady with her. Once we get a saddle to fit her, Hubby will be working on her being ridden here.
She’s willing to work, and basks in praise and grooming. Oh, this girl love, Love, LOVES to be groomed. There is good reason why I call her a Brazen Hussy! πŸ˜›

Finally, last, but certainly not least!
Sable.

Big Sleepy GirlOur Palomino beauty. Our big, sweet, tender-hearted Blonde Girl.

She was our surprise girl. Again, from Blackbird Ranch. We hadn’t planned on 3 horses at once. We had already put a deposit down on Ruby and Cookie, and were going back to finalize payment on them-and get a visit in too. It was shortly after an auction, so the Ladies took us out to meet the new horses. There was Sable. She was attracted to The Kid right away. And Hubby, well he was undone when, as we were leaving, Sable stood on the path, not returning to the herd, and Kim said “She’s waiting for a kiss”…he went back to kiss that nose and that was all she wrote. Sable was ours. With a bit more wrangling of hay and stuff, but yeah. She was ours.

Sable is our Omega. She is the absolute bottom of the herd. She is also our girl who comforts the others when they are out of sorts. When Cookie isn’t right, she sticks to Sable. The odd time, I’ve seen Ruby glued to her side. Unfortunately, the Omega horse is also the one who takes the most shit. It is part of the job. She gets bit and kicked and chased. Because of this, we humans watch out for her quite a bit. Like when it’s beet pulp time. Everyone has their buckets, and we guard Sable while she eats. Otherwise, Ruby will finish hers and push Sable out to gulp down a second portion. As long as we guard Sable, that doesn’t happen. Works out, because everyone eats better then, since they know they can’t push Sable off hers.

Sable is my hands on, test this massage trick or pressure point, girl too. She loves to be stroked and petted and coddled. She’s our biggest girl, and our biggest suck. She is a true pocket pony. She wants to be beside you all the time. She also has no idea how big she really is, so we humans always have to be aware with her. She wants to snuggle, but doesn’t know her own strength.

Sable has some training. She’s been ridden for sure. Kid has been up on her a few times. Since she’s an Omega, she does have confidence issues. She needs her rider to be pretty confident for them to work together successfully. Her and The Kid do pretty good together. Sable works very hard to keep The Kid safe. Even when she’s unsure, she holds her anxiety in, to make sure Kid doesn’t get hurt. As The Kid’s skills increase, they are going to be a fantastic team! She is, definitely, The Kid’s girl. No doubt about it. Sable and The Kid have a bond that every horse woman dreams of having with her mount. It’s that once (maybe twice, if you’re real lucky) bond that happens when you find your Heart Horse. Sable is that horse for The Kid.

I call her Bella…short for bellissima, which means “most beautiful” in Italian…because of her beautiful face and her beautiful Spirit. ❀

M is for the Mares of Midnight Calico Farm.

Sharing with Jenny Matlock’s Alphabe-Thursday.

11 thoughts on “M is for Mares

  1. What beauties! I love the way Cookie got her name! I love Sable’s story too — what a sweetheart!

    Like

  2. Anne says:

    What magnificent creatures these ladies are! I am always loving horses and so wish I had been raised around them. They are beautiful, smart and kind when they seek those that need a gentle hand (or hoove). I appreciate this sweet share and hope you will stop by for a visit soon. Enjoy your weekend.

    Like

  3. Jim says:

    πŸ™‚ Ruby tugged at my heart. They all are ver pretty, I doubt you really have a favorite. Thank you for presenting them.

    I love horses but I don’t have any to ride now that eat hay and oats instead of having a gasoline diet–I have two Ponies, a 1974 Mustang II Ghia with a vinyl top and a sunroof and a 1998 Mustang GT Convertible–a green one and a black one.

    I did ride Minnie to high school a couple of years. She was older with bones and a body build similar to Ruby. No big spots though, she was white with a lot of darker gray hairs mixed in, some in thumbnail sized splotches.
    ..

    Like

  4. I feel like I know them! They’re all beautiful and sometimes the challenging ones turn out to be the best ones…

    Like

  5. They are so pretty! ❀

    Like

  6. jesh stg says:

    My favorites (only by the color of their coat) are the black and white mare, and the blondie. They all look beautiful and I can tell you love ’em:)

    Like

  7. I have a namesake there and I loved Sable

    Like

  8. I looooooooove your post! Ruby does make me think of a unicorn, too. Cookie looks like a Cookie. Sweet, sweet mares.
    The View from the Top of the Ladder

    Like

  9. Toosh says:

    I especially like when they come around to the front yard to see what’s for dinner by the hobo barrel fire! They feel a part of the family, how nice.

    Like

  10. gail says:

    so nice to be re-introduced to the girls. they are all so pretty.

    Like

  11. Teresa says:

    You have such pretty girls!

    Like

Comments are closed.