SHS~February 9th

Since it’s Monday morning, I’m just going to go right into the prompts with out chit-chat, ‘kay? Lil’ tired here this morning…

Prompts for this week are On My Table, Pink, Old School, Walk, and Accessory.

On My Table

on my tableA very important project that was on my table last week. It’s now done, and off my table. Just needs to be delivered. šŸ™‚

Pink

A soon-to-be 14 year old Daughter, me, and 4 mares. Yup, lots of pink in this house. Including new pink buckets (they were on sale for a super price at Peavey Mart last week!)

New pink bucket.

New pink bucket.

Pink buckets and fence hangers for feeding the Nags their beet pulp mixture.

Pink buckets and fence hangers for feeding the Nags their beet pulp mixture.

Old School

We don’t water the Girls old school…with buckets. Nope, we have one of them new fangled heated automatic waterers. Thank gawd!!

Life saver!

Life saver!

Doesn’t look like much, but this, as far as I’m concerned, is a necessity when you have livestock. It just is. There have been a few times this winter it has frozen up, and that induces panic, let me tell you!
You have to haul buckets of water out old school style…because every one is dying of thirst and must have water now. Not just now, but right now, and o.m.g., Mom’s using a beet pulp bucket so I might have to push my equine sister out and get what she has in there and oh! it’s only water, so I’ll spit that out on Mom…wait, I can get my hoof in this bucket, maybe I’ll wash them up while Mom is here, then she can bring more water. Wait, why am I slipping? Hey, how come I have ice on the bottom of my hoof? Maybe I should wash it again…dang it Astrid, get out of there, quit drinking my hoof washing water…wait, now *I’m* thirsty and there’s no water left, because she drank it…my foots dirty, I’m thirsty, Mom’s busy making noise…MOOOOOMMMM!!!

Yeah, that’s my life when the waterer freezes…*sigh*

Looks a little grungy, but that's because my Nags always make tea. I swear, I wash this thing at least once a week, usually twice.

Looks a little grungy, but that’s because my Nags always make tea. I swear, I wash this thing at least once a week, usually twice.

Walk

While I clean the shelter, Hubby uses the tractor to scrape all the frozen poop away from the feeders. This typically induces panic, because he’s stealing all the Girl’s good stuff. Never mind that before he got there, I forked up all the non-soiled hay and moved it to the trough. Oh no. We’re starving the Girls <she said with her tongue planted very firmly in her cheek> and they have no choice but to eat the bits of soiled hay left on the ground…and even worse, Hubby keeps making them move out of it. When he drives off with a bucket load of mess, they just walk right back in and keep eating.

walk

“Quick!! Eat it all before he gets back!!”

If anyone ever tries to tell you horses are just big dumb animals…laugh at them! No way. They all have very distinct personalities and it’s awesome to watch them. Actually, Hubby and I were discussing whether or not they have a sense of humor. I think they do, just based on some of their actions, but that could also be me anthropomorphizing them. šŸ˜‰

Accessory

She has snow as toe nail polish, does that count?

She has snow as toe nail polish, does that count?

Ugh, and ice balls. Pick them out, they walk off, and ball right back up again. *sigh* I tried Pam (the cooking spray) on their soles…doesn’t work. I tried coconut oil mixed with canola oil…doesn’t work. Even when they have an up to date trim on…doesn’t work. The snow just jams up in there, and because their hooves are warm, melts and forms ice balls. I carry a hoof pick every where. Hey! That’s my accessory…a hoof pick!

accessory2Cookie’s accessory is her frosty halter. Pretty face jewelry! šŸ™‚

Sharing with Scavenger Hunt Sunday hosted by Ashley Sisk.

