J is for Job

Here on the farm I have a few jobs. There is the day-to-day job of being a stay at home wife. I look after the house, The Kid and Hubby. Do dishes, cook, laundry…all the normal stuff.

I also sew. I make moccasins. Saddle pads. Repair clothes. Pants. Just about anything that can be sewn, I can, and do, do. I’ve even done a wedding gown or two in my sewing career. *shudders* As fun as they were, I don’t particularly want to take one on again…it’s a lot of work, for a relatively small amount of pay.

A sample pair of moccasins I did for a customer.

A sample pair of moccasins I did for a customer.

Saddle pad fabrics, waiting to be cut and sewn.

Saddle pad fabrics, waiting to be cut and sewn.

There is a huge interest in camo saddle pads right now. I am more than happy to sew them up and capitalize on that interest! That snow camo in the front is for me though. I want to see how it looks on Cookie. If I don’t like the look of it on her (with Cookie Monster blue binding and straps), then I’ll put it up for sale too.

Another one of my jobs (and this is the one I am actually trained to do) is Goldsmith.
Now, I can work in a traditional setting, doing repairs, making traditional jewelry, but folks, if you’ve learned anything about me reading here, you know full well, I am no traditional anything. 😛 I much prefer to go my own way, which means I have limited clientele.  When I produce a piece of jewelry,  it’s a one of a kind. That suit me just fine. A while back, I showed you what I was doing with hoof clippings, in the Sableine post. Here’s my 2 favorite personal pieces, that are in the same style…

Bear claw, copper, Baltic amber

Bear claw, copper, Baltic amber

African lion claw, 22kt gold and wulfenite

African lion claw, 22kt gold and wulfenite

The bear claw came to me via a friend of a friend. She had gotten it from a hunter who used the carcass to feed his family.

The lion claw is a much sadder story…we had a friend who was doing taxidermy. The hide of the lion was dropped off to him to mount, but it was in too poor of shape to mount, and the person never came back for it. He gifted me the claws that he could salvage, hoping I would use them somehow. I set this one, and I have one more that I have put away, until I get The Call to do something with it. Such a sad end, to be reduced to 2 claws left of what was once a majestic animal.

Another job I have, here on the farm, is I am the official photographer of Midnight Calico Farm. As such, I get to take all sorts of interesting photos (which y’all get to see every time you drop in), and sometimes, I get to design some crazy photo shoots for the horses…for example, I have this on loan for the weekend:

German HelmetThat would be a WW2 German helmet, and I got 4 pretty heads out in the pasture that it will sit on. 🙂

I also get to take pictures like this…

hello birdie!This is why I don’t pull out dead plants in the fall. It’s not really because I’m lazy, it’s because the birds enjoy the seeds in the winter. 😉

As a part of being the Farm Photographer, I have created a line of cards for sale. Images come from the fun photo shoots done here, and money goes into the expansion of pastures, purchase of hay, and of course, pads the vet fund, because with 4 horses, one never, ever knows when an injury will occur. And they will occur. Horses are just like that!

Card backs and photos to attach

Card backs and photos to attach

Cards2

I like to have a removable print, so folks can use as art afterwards.

Cards are a set of 4 for $12. You can buy individuals too, at $3.50 each. In the next week or so, you’ll see a new page on the sidebar, where the information for ordering from us will be.
Or, you can find us on Facebook.

So, there you have it. Those are some of my jobs on the farm. Truth be told though, my biggest job, after feeding every one is this…

A mountain of well-used straw

A mountain of well-used straw

Yep, my main job is as a Manure Removal Expert.
And trust me, I am an expert!

J is for Job.

Sharing with Jenny Matlock’s Aphabe-Thursday.

12 thoughts on “J is for Job

  1. HAH! I like to think I’m pretty good at removing “used hay” myself!

    Great post!

    Like

    • WolfSong says:

      LOL!
      It goes hand in hand with horses, right? We have to be good a moving the soiled stuff, or else! 🙂
      Gotta say, I love the shoulder muscles I’m building having the Girls at home. 😉

      Like

  2. jesh stg says:

    A friend of mine studies to be a gold smith (in the Netherlands) and I have seen some of her exam projects – so, I’m in awe:) Very striking pieces of jewelry you made (had no idea bear of lion’s claws were used for jewelry!). Thanks for looking me up!

    Like

  3. Your work is beautiful. No doubt everyone who gets your jewelry or cards feels special.

    Like

  4. Christy Paws says:

    Great post and beautiful jewelry.

    Like

  5. Toosh says:

    I love the bird on the stem, perfect picture. Baltic amber and wulfenite are gorgeous in the jewelry, great choice, those are new to me.
    What kind of fur is that on the moccasin? I don’t recognize that, either.
    We’ve got bunnies feeding on the batchelor button seeds that we didn’t rip out in the Fall (I think we got lazy on that part of the yard!) But I think you’re on to something there….

    Like

    • WolfSong says:

      I found the wulfenite at the gemological show the U of M used to hold. Oh, how I miss those!
      The fur is actually a faux fur. I’m under strict orders from The Kid to not use bunny fur…and honestly? The bunny furs are so expensive now, it adds more than $20 to the price of a pair of slippers!
      The faux lasts longer, and looks(and feels) just as good.

      Like

  6. gail says:

    love the bird photo and both jewelry pieces. i have two huge hollies (one of each sex) and a yew that’s taller than the eaves near the feeders so the birds have shelter from weather and hawks. they eat the rose hips and surprisingly yew berries as well as the mt. ash (rowan) berries. they do share the rowan berries with me. they also eat the berries on the oregon grape but not a lot.

    Like

  7. WolfSong says:

    I’m still learning what trees/plants we have here, but we seem to have a few the birds love. I probably should learn what the different birds are too. I just know I love seeing them. 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.