Memories, Dreams and Reflections 2014

This is like the year ending scavenger hunt…Hosted by Ashley Sisk, it’s a reflection of your year in photographs. I love this idea! It took a bit of work to find just the right pictures, and for some of the prompts, I needed more than one image, but that’s okay. It was a lot of fun to put together.

Here we go…

1. Me!

Now, I am not a fan of pictures of myself…just not. However, this one, is one I really love. My Kid caught it, while we were working with The Girls, and I love how Cookie is completely engaged with me here…

Me and my bestest Girl. :)

Me and my bestest Girl. πŸ™‚

2. I Love You

Thank goodness I don’t have to stick to one photo per prompt!

3 of my Loves

3 of my Loves…

3 more of them...

3 more of them…

Let's not forget Daphne!

Let’s not forget Daphne!

There are, of course, more. Like all the cats, indoor and outdoor, but we’ll save those for other prompts. πŸ˜‰

3. Still Laughing

Oh, Astrid! That pretty little girl makes me laugh so often! She is our resident photobomber. No matter the shoot, there is a 98% chance of finding her in a shot somewhere during edits. Here’s a couple of her best ones. πŸ™‚

Trying to take pictures of The Kid's first time on Sable.

Trying to take pictures of The Kid’s first time on Sable.

Cookie having a nap...

Cookie having a nap…

That’s our Astrid for you…these photos make me smile every time I see them. πŸ™‚

4. Winter Wonderland

We had some crazy snow on the farm in 2014…was it a winter wonderland? I don’t know about that, but I do know, that I shoveled and pushed out more vehicles in Jan/Feb. 2014 than I have in my entire life!

That's Blizzard. She's a 2014 Ram 1500...yes, that's our driveway. She is stuck on about 3 feet of snow...give you an idea of how much snow we had pre-spring melt!

That’s Blizzard. She’s a 2014 Ram 1500…yes, that’s our driveway. She is stuck on about 3 feet of snow…gives you an idea of how much snow we had pre-spring melt!

This year is different…so grateful for that!!

No where near as much snow so far (knock on wood!!), and the girls are having a great time playing. :)

No where near as much snow so far (knock on wood!!), and the girls are having a great time playing. πŸ™‚

5. Birthday

I don’t have pictures of The Kid’s birthday, or Hubby’s or mine…nope, I have pictures from when Cookie turned 9, and she got her Birthday Carrot.

Carrot1

Carrot6Ugh. Don’t look at those hooves. This was when we were still trying to get her to trust me enough to lift. Those fronts look much better now, with some darn good trims on them!!

6. Friends

It took a while, but these guys finally became friends…

The Peanut Gallery

The Peanut Gallery

Astrid came in January of last year, and oh my…it was an adventure. We were not prepared for a 4th horse. We had no way to separate her from the other 3, so they could get to know each other from a distance. It was, sadly, a trial by fire for Ms Astrid. Certainly not how I’d bring a new animal in again!

Exchanging breath greetings.

Exchanging breath greetings.

It was hectic and frantic, and all around hard on everyone. But we got there…they worked it out. Astrid and Sable bonded fast, and now, the two of them are best friends.

Telling Jokes

"Do you mind? We're having a private conversation here!"

“Do you mind? We’re having a private conversation here!”

Love that big soft eye on Astrid. She also has the start of the relaxed droopy lip. :)

Love that big soft eye on Astrid. She also has the start of the relaxed droopy lip. πŸ™‚

7. I Was Inspired…

I have loved the looks of horse hooves for years. This past year, with the Girls coming home, and facing regular hoof trims, gave me the raw materials to explore using hoof bits for jewelry. Trying to find a unique gift for my Kid inspired me to pick up the goldsmith tools and create a few pendants. I have a few more ideas in mind for hoof clipping jewelry, and I’ll explore that in the coming year. πŸ™‚

Cut and polished, ready for the inspiration to hit.

Cut and polished, ready for the inspiration to hit.

Elements I am drawn to use in creating hoof jewelry.

Elements I am drawn to use in creating hoof jewelry.

A sample final product...this one belongs to The Kid.

A sample final product…this one belongs to The Kid.

8. Spring Fever

Spring fever means one thing around here…crazy cantering horses!

Yeehaw!!

Yeehaw!!

9. Travel or Vacation

No such thing as a vacation for me. I’m good with that. Why would I want to leave all that I have at home ?
I do travel at times though…one of the places I travel to is the stable where The Kid take her riding lessons. There, I take pictures of other people’s horses, instead of my own.

Queenie and Kingston

Queenie and Kingston

Like these two ^^^^ who came in March, just wee teeny things.

Queenie

Queenie

Look at how tiny she is!! She’s not that small any more…Girl is going to be a tank when she’s done growing! A gorgeous tank. πŸ˜‰

Kingston

Kingston

He’s grown a lot too, but next to Queenie, he’s still small. Adorable, and such a sweet, friendly little fellow too.

10. Summer Days

Summer days…oh, the best shoot of the summer has to be the Sow Thistle shoot! Giant dandelion like flowers, 4 horses, 2 people and a camera…how can that not be awesome?!?

Dandelions6
Dandelions5

She gave to Sable first.

Ruby Astrid Sow Thistles

11. A Day In My Life

Ooooooh boy…this is an interesting one. I could show you piles of poo. Goodness knows there’s a lot of that in my day! I could show you the house work I’m supposed to do…or the myriad of projects always on the table, waiting for finishing and traveling on to their destinations. Nah, instead I’ll show you the best part of a day in my life…

Cookie

Cookie

Getting to spend time with her really is the best part of my day. ❀

12. All Smiles

Can horses smile?
Yup!

"Oh yeah, that's a good spot!!"

That’s the smile I get when I hit the sweet spot while scratching…

Smiling SableOur Sable smiles a lot!!

Lazy Cookie4This one makes me smile, because she so enjoys a good roll. And, I have to restrain myself from patting her on the tummy when she does it! πŸ˜›

Another one that makes me smile...she popped up from a roll and was genuinely surprised I was taking her picture. She then trotted over to give kisses. <3

Another one that makes me smile…she popped up from a roll and was genuinely surprised I was taking her picture. She then trotted over to give kisses. ❀

13. Autumn Harvest

My garden was under water for much of spring, and well into summer. We had a rain storm on July 1st that covered the pasture with nearly 6 inches of water, and my garden was completely under water. So when the fall came, and I took a chance on digging up the meagre carrots, I was happily surprised to see we had quite a few of them! Only problem was they were bitter and woody. Awful for humans, awesome for horses…

Kid had put them int he trough for Sable to bob for...she didn't like that, and Kid had to fish them out and hold them for her.

Sable did not enjoy bobbing for carrots…

14. Family or Home

midnight calico2.1It’s Home…for us, for the Girls, for Daphne, for all the cats…Home. Whether it’s always this plot of land, or we move to another one (no, we are not planning to move!!), Midnight Calico Farm will always be Home.

15. Celebrate!

There were so many things to celebrate in 2014. I could fill a post with just Celebrate! pictures…
~ Kid getting up on her girl for the first time.
~ Sable lunging on the surcingle (her and Kid were having problems communicating, ’til we got help from an awesome friend).
~ Kittens.
~ Ruby with her pretty purple halter on.
~ Cookie being haltered.
~ Cookie wearing her blanket.
~ Cookie wearing the scary camo cap.
~ Cookie wearing her halter where I didn’t have to have help from anyone else, and I didn’t have t put her in the corral panel stall…
Yeah, there were a lot of Cookie moments to celebrate. One of my favorites, though is her learning to be ground tied. This was huge. She’s uncomfortable being tied to the fence (we’ll work on that in the summer, after Hubby builds me a hitching post.), but I don’t always have someone out in the pasture to help when I’m lifting feet, rubbing her back, grooming her, or whatever…so, she needed to learn to stand ground tied. Lead rope attached to halter, but left in a pile on the ground. No moving, no walking away, staying put and doing as I ask. It was a big thing to ask her to do, and she does it beautifully. πŸ™‚

"Okay. I'll wait here"

“Okay. I’ll wait here”

16. Let’s Do It Again!

It’s the new year, and that means I am looking forward to the garden. I cannot wait for seed starting, then planting out in the garden, tending the plants, harvest, and putting up the veggies of my labours. πŸ™‚
tomatoes041814Tomatoes.

Poppies peppers sunflowersPoppies, peppers and sunflowers.

Awesome, right?

Awesome, right?

The amazing light stand. Can’t wait to use it again!

17. I Miss You

It wasn’t last year we lost her, but I kept finding pictures of her last year.

My OldWoman, waiting for a cough candy.

My OldWoman, waiting for a cough candy.

She loved Fisherman’s Friends. My Dad taught her how to cough for them.

Playing in the snow.

Playing in the snow.

She really hated having her picture taken. Always turned away like this. We lost her March 23rd, 2013. Just months before we bought the farm…Her ashes are here, and in Spirit she runs over the fields of Midnight Calico Farm. Too many days, I find myself wishing she had run here on 4 paws too.

Last picture I ever took of her...

Last picture I ever took of her…

πŸ˜₯

18. Beautiful

Astrid is a beautiful girl, wearing her pink straw hat.

Astrid's Hat

19. Dress Up

Hahahahaha!!
Sometimes, that’s all I have to share, are “dress up” pictures of the horses! Here’s a few favorites…

Astrid, looking beautiful in the sunshine.

Astrid, looking beautiful in the sunshine. I didn’t even tweak the color in this shot…she really is that red in the sunlight!

"I am Queen Ruby. Feed me!"

“I am Queen Ruby. Feed me!”

"I do, don't I? I'm awesome."

“I look awesome.”

She knows she's pretty!

She knows she’s pretty!

20. Macro

From the C is For Cookie shoot…

C is for Cookie6Cookie Monster kisses Cookie Meister.

C is for Cookie1

21. Holidays

A few from summer holidays…

Pretty CookieHow does a horse so beautiful, so smart, and so even-tempered, end up at auction, with only the meat man and a rescue group bidding on her? I honestly cannot figure out how she ended up there…all I know is now she’s mine, I am hers, and she will never face the ring again.

Sable“Here Mom, I brought you some water.” πŸ˜‰

Ruby WaterOur unicorn in disguise.

Oh yeah! That's the spot!

So. Darn. Itchy!!

22. My Favorite

I have many shots that I took this year that I love…this one, is one of the best!

"Need a nap now..."

“Need a nap now…”

23. Don’t Ever Change

Every horse should have the chance to be loved by a little girl.

Every horse should have the chance to be loved by a little girl.

This bond…it is amazing. I hope it never changes. That our Sable always loves her Girl. That the Kid never takes that love for granted.

24. Just Because…So There!

There's my Bitchy Reindeer.

There’s my Bitchy Reindeer.

I. Love. This. Shot.
That’s all. πŸ™‚

25. Hopes and Dreams

Max CatUsing MaxCat to look to the future…

I hope that 2015 brings us all happiness, good health, and growth.
I hope we see an increase in farm sales…cards, photo prints, hoof jewelry, slippers, saddle pads…soon eggs too, once the chicken coop is up. πŸ˜‰
I dream of helping my Cookie learn to be ridden…once her hooves are healthy!
I dream of the Kid coming home from school, Hubby from work, and we saddle up and go for a ride together.
I dream of when our back field is fenced, and seeded for pasture. 2 years before that dream happens. It’s okay, I need to save up for the seed.
I Dream of the day when no more horses need to be rescued from becoming someone’s dinner. I Hope that one day, in my lifetime, that Dream comes true.

Lilac bud

Lilac bud

Happy New Year friends of Midnight Calico Farm!!
Looking forward to see what the new year brings.

4 thoughts on “Memories, Dreams and Reflections 2014

  1. Lovely. Happy new year!

    Like

  2. Kimberly says:

    You are truly blessed! Loved seeing all the photos of your horses! Happy 2015!

    Like

  3. gail says:

    beautiful. happy new year to all at midnight calico farm

    Like

  4. ashleysisk says:

    Look at all these beautiful horses. I’ll have to be sure to come back when Felicity is awake. She’ll love them!

    Like

Comments are closed.