A Bit of Catching Up

I realized yesterday that I’ve been remiss here, with only the Alphabe-Thursday posts in a week’s time. So, I figured I should catch everyone up on why I haven’t been here…

I’ve had some deadlines I’ve been working on. This coming weekend is a new and used tack sale at the barn Kid takes lessons at, and so I thought it would be a great chance to pop some saddle pads in. I’ve pulled a few all nighters, just to make sure I got them done in time…and I did! Probably wouldn’t have had to, but last week the time went out from under me…

My Odin cat, my large indoor orange boy, had a seizure. Needless to say, after that, all thoughts of sewing went out of my head. I did talk to our vet, and since he came back to himself fairly quickly, we’re going to go the “watch his diet and monitor his behaviour” route. He’s an overweight cat, with urinary issues, so at nearly 11, with more than half his life being on a high sodium cat food, this is to be expected.  Without tests, we won’t know exactly what caused the seizure, but from what I was able to tell the vet, he’s thinking it was a stroke. 😦

Add to that, a couple of weeks ago, I bashed in the door on Blizzard, our new truck. We had gone grocery shopping, and as I got out, the wind pulled the door right out of my hand, and it hit the car next to us. *sigh* Smashed the mirror off the car, and dented both doors. So, Hubby and I wrote down the license plate #, went into the store and paged the owner. Thankfully, she worked there, so there was no chance of missing her. It was a stupid, dumb mistake on my part, not holding the door better, and it cost us. At least it didn’t cost the other car owner anything…other than the time and aggravation of getting her car fixed. I feel bad about that.

On the plus side though…

I have been asked to do the photo shoot for Santa Pictures at the barn Kid rides at.
Santa+horses=FUN!!
So, I’ve been busy playing with lighting, and a tripod, and editing…I want to be sure I take the very best shots I can! I don’t want to use flash, because I find it really shows, but I don’t want to have to set up extra lights either. That will slow the whole process down, because you don’t want funny shadows on anyone so having to move people/horses or lights between each group is not going to work.  That means working the camera settings for all they’re worth, and editing the rest.

Here’s some samples from last weekend’s play around…with my 2 very handsome assistants!

Hubby and Deimos

Hubby and Deimos

This horse loves having his picture taken…he’s very good-looking, and he knows it. 😉

B and D2The poop wagon won’t be there, and the space will be decorated festively, with straw bales for the humans to sit on.
Once the area is set up, I’ll re-shoot some shots, and make sure I’m happy with my camera settings.

B and D3This shot is a little warmer, because I adjusted the color brightness in editing. I love how Deimos is so focused on the camera here…”Yeah, yeah, I hear you Human, but camera!! I must pose!”

Mr. D on his own...

Mr. D on his own…

Yeah, I think we’ll make it work just fine. 😉

For fun, here’s one of Deimos in the arena, when Kid was still on his back…

bw D2He is so good-looking. Tongue and all.

Oh, and here’s a couple of “after beet pulp” asshattery shots of The Girls…

Oh that Ruby...always looking to start some shit!

Oh that Ruby…always looking to start some shit! Sable is ready and willing to go with her!

Oh yeah, it's on now!

Oh yeah, it’s on now!

And Astrid...while the other 2 play, she's going to each pail to lick the last drops of beet pulp out. :)

And Astrid…while the other 2 play, she’s going to each pail to lick the last drops of beet pulp out. 🙂

And now, back to work for me…I still have a couple of moccasin orders to get done and mailed out so folks have them for Yule!
I’ll have some more “post beet pulp” pictures for you Sunday. 🙂

One thought on “A Bit of Catching Up

  1. gail says:

    very nice pictures. i try not to use flashwith my dogs – don’t like the way it looks and Q doesn’t like it.

    Like

Comments are closed.