B is for Beet Pulp

I spoil the horses. I admit it, they are spoiled rotten. If I had a barn, they would be pampered pony princesses. But I don’t. One day, but for now, they have a 12×14 shelter, and a thick stand of willows to hide from the elements. Most times, we find them out grazing, no matter what the weather is doing.

As it’s been getting colder, I have added warm mashes of soaked beet pulp to their diets. The main reason I added it was because our Sable didn’t seem to be getting her winter woolies in as thick(or as fast) as she did last year. Knowing that she had trouble with some of our super cold days last year and we had to purchase a blanket for her, I figured we’d get some extra energy going into her. And, in this herd, you can’t give to one, and not the other 3. Especially when the one who needs it most is the Omega.

Nutritionally, my Girls are doing very well, we have a high quality hay, fork fed twice a day (or more when it’s cold!), free choice mineral/salt blocks, and fresh clean water 24/7, so they really don’t need much of anything. Beet pulp was the best choice.

This is what it looks like...

This is what it looks like…

Beet pulp is what’s left after the sugar has been removed from sugar beets. It’s dried and compressed into these pellets, or flakes.

My Girls get 1 cup each.

My Girls get 1 cup each.

That’s 1 cup dried. It has to be soaked. I have read that it can be fed as is, but my Girls love a good sloppy beet mash!

1 cup beet pulp, and a minimum of 4 cups hot water.

1 cup beet pulp, and a minimum of 4 cups hot water.

I also splash in a 1/4 cup canola oil per bucket. I had tried giving Sable coconut oil, but she doesn’t care for it. The other 3 will eat it right off the spoon. Not Sable. I even tried sandwiching it between 2 gingerbread cookies (which she loves over all other horse treats!), but, no go. So, for that bit of extra fat, I add canola oil.

I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again…if my girls are a little fat going into winter, I’m fine with that. They’re outside 24/7 and that extra pudge helps keep them warm. We work it off come spring time. πŸ˜‰ Even our Ruby, fat girl that she is, worked hard this past summer and dropped her winter weight. Next summer, we’ll work at getting her back under saddle, so she’ll definitely slim down.

Let it soak until it looks like this...

Let it soak until it looks like this…

Takes at least an hour to get it to look like this. That’s using hot water. If I use cold water, I let it soak over night. Meh. It’s easier to boil the kettle and leave it soak until it cools down to room temperature. By easier, I mean, that way I don’t have to keep Daphne or the cats from eating it.

Then there's the small add ins...

Then there’s the small add ins…

A diced carrot…some times it’s an apple, or last week I had a few pears that were too ripe. Mostly it’s just a single carrot, diced small, so it can be stirred through.

Ready to serve!

Ready to serve!

It’s really amazing that 1 cup of dried beet pulp, once soaked, turns into nearly half a pail of mash.

The second I step out the door with those bright pink pails, it turns into a happy horse fest. I hear murffles and calls and then, there’s the dancing. Oh how they dance for beet pulp!! When I get down to the back fence with the pails, I tell them, “Okay get in your spots!” and they line up, waiting for their pails.

Enjoying their nummies.

Enjoying their nummies.

And there you have it, happy horses, with happy tummies, and warm bodies.

B is for Beet Pulp.
Sharing with Jenny Matlock’s Alphabe-Thursday.

10 thoughts on “B is for Beet Pulp

  1. Isobel Anderson says:

    A lovely writup about a mothers love for her horses. Winter is always rough in Manitoba . Best wishes to your family. -humans and animals.Love Isobel.xx

    Date: Thu, 27 Nov 2014 12:20:31 +0000 To: isabella6643@hotmail.com

    Like

  2. tempestletrope says:

    They’re beautiful! I always wished I could have a horse, but I’ve never been in a situation that would allow for it.
    http://weaverandwaterbearer.blogspot.com/2014/11/a-magic-arrow-to-heart.html

    Like

  3. Cathy Connolly says:

    Such a good Mom you are. It’s so wonderful to see people who love their horses and take such special care of them. They are very blessed to have your family rescue them!!

    Like

    • WolfSong says:

      I try. πŸ™‚
      In the short time they have been here, I’ve learned so much from them, and they have given me so much…just by being themselves.
      I am a very lucky Horse Mama!

      Like

  4. Deb says:

    that’s so neat, that they line up by themselves! I use coconut oil in cooking – I heard it was good for you. They are so sweet looking! {:-D

    Like

    • WolfSong says:

      They know if they want their feed, they have to behave for it. No pushing, no biting, no kicking, so they line up and wait. Once they get about half way through, then the “I want what you have” games start. By that time, I’m out of the pasture. πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. This was really an interesting link.

    I didn’t know ANY of these things about feeding horses.

    It makes my heart happy to read what a caring person you are!

    Thanks for sharing your heart for the letter B.

    A+

    Like

Comments are closed.