One Year

Today makes 1 year since we met our Painted Ladies, and they stole our hearts. 1 year since we made the 2 hour drive from the farm down to the place where the Rescue had the horses. 1 year since we put down a deposit to make them ours. Here are pictures from the day we met them…

Cookie...so wide eyed! This has become known as the "Crazy Paint Eye".

Cookie…so wide eyed! This has become known as the “Crazy Paint Eye”.

The Crazy Paint Eye happens when she’s unsure of what’s going on around her. This happens less and less now…that’s a good thing.

Ruby...head in the grain bucket! LOL! Not much has changed. ;)

Ruby…head in the grain bucket! LOL! Not much has changed. 😉

Another one of our Ruby...of course, she wasn't ours yet.

Another one of our Ruby…of course, she wasn’t ours yet.

Fast forward a year, and here are some new pictures of them. At home. Their Forever home.

At attention.

At attention.

I love that long, thick mane of hers. It’s so beautiful…her white is transparent. ❤

Girl sure know how to pose.

Girl sure knows how to pose.

Watching the geese.

Watching the geese.

This giant Dork had a long thick mane too…she’s been pushing fence and has yanked so much of it out. 😦 It wasn’t quite as long as Ruby’s but it was much thicker. *sigh* I still love her though, mane or no mane. Cookie 1 Year3

Enjoying the mineral block...she kept trying to bite pieces off...this is the only shot where she was actually licking.

Enjoying the mineral block…she kept trying to bite pieces off…this is the only shot where she was actually licking.

Munching.

Munching.

She's gorgeous. I don't know a lot about equine confirmation, but to me, she's perfect.

She’s gorgeous. I don’t know a lot about equine conformation, but to me, she’s perfect.

Munching together.

Munching together.

I like big butts and I cannot lie...

I like big butts and I cannot lie…

I ❤ them Quarter Horse bred paints. 🙂 Finally, I had the chance to take a few portrait style shots of Cookie. In editing, I realized, I had a photo bomber. Surprisingly, it wasn’t Astrid.

Oh Sable...

Oh Sable…

Hahahaha!! She so enjoyed that roll. :D

Hahahaha!! She so enjoyed that roll. 😀

Here’s to many more years of fun, learning and love with our Painted Ladies. (Sable and Astrid too!) Sharing with the From the Farm Bloghop, Farmgirl Friday, and Friendship Friday.

3 thoughts on “One Year

  1. What treasures. They’re all beautiful and delightful!

    Like

  2. Cathy Connolly says:

    Beautiful painted ladies, so blessed to have you and the forever home you and your family have given them all.

    Like

  3. gail says:

    happy anniversary to all of you.

    Like

Comments are closed.