Scavenger Hunt Sunday~October 5th

It’s getting cold out! Well, it’s still on the plus side of the thermometer, but we’re wearing more sweaters indoors, and definitely keeping the slippers on. The Girls are working hard on their winter coats, and everyone is looking plush and fuzzy. Yay! 🙂

We’ve been refilling the shelter with straw more often, and they are happily munching on the fluffed bedding. We use wheat straw-because The Kid is allergic to oats-and The Girls come running to munch while I fluff it in.

This week’s Scavenger Hunt Sunday reflects the cooling temperatures. This week’s prompts are Autumn, Leaves, Boots, Hot Beverage and Game.

On to the pictures!

Autumn and Leaves

I used the same picture for both prompts, because my trees are dropping their leaves rapidly, in the cool Autumn air. Cheating? A bit, but I’ll make up for it in the next prompts. 😉

Autumn and LeavesMy lilacs look so bare!

Boots

Both The Kid and I needed new boots…she needed rubber boots, and got a pair she’s been longing to have for a very long time!

No surprise that she'd want these!

No surprise that she’d want these!

Happily, it was an end of season sale and they were marked down 65%.

I needed a decent pair of boots for working with The Girls. Rubber boots don’t offer much in the way of foot protection when a horse steps on you. When we went and looked for The Kid’s boots, I took a look through the work boot dept. I found myself a pair of boots for a paltry $22.49. Marked down from $99! Steel toes and much safer for when our Blonde Girl has a scare from The Paints, and steps on me…happens more often than I am happy about, let me tell you!

I think I should have bought 2 pairs...these have already gotten a ton of use!

I think I should have bought 2 pairs…these have already gotten a ton of use!

Hot Beverage

Some times it’s tea, some times it’s hot chocolate, but 98% of the time, the hot beverage of choice around this farm is coffee. Strong, with lots of cream, and enjoyed immensely on a cool Autumn day.

One of my favorite cups. :)

One of my favorite cups. 🙂

Game

We have a few popular games around here…

Game 1

Chase. Daphne chases the cats, and the cats chase Daphne.

Chase. Daphne chases the cats, and the cats chase Daphne.

Game 2

Making tea. Yup, my horses love to add any vegetation they can to the troughs. Even more fun when Mama has just cleaned them.

Making tea. Yup, my horses love to add any vegetation they can to the troughs. Even more fun when Mama has just cleaned them.

Game 3

Cantering around and kicking up your heels.

Cantering around and kicking up your heels.

Game 4

Follow the Leader! Always a fun game!

Follow the Leader! Always a fun game!

Sharing with Scavenger Hunt Sunday hosted by Ashley Sisk.

4 thoughts on “Scavenger Hunt Sunday~October 5th

  1. Nice job with the hunt. I’m thinking those were some snazzy rain boots. Loved the horses playing games and the dog chasing the cat, I bet it’s fun to watch them play.

    Like

  2. Monica says:

    Must be fun to watch the animals play their games. I love those boots that “The Kid” found. Had to laugh – My in-laws used to call my husband “the Kid” when he was growing up.

    Like

  3. Diane says:

    Oh how cute with the animals playing games–
    I do think that you all horses in your house!!!
    great photos

    Like

  4. maryobrien3985 says:

    Nice pictures Wolfsong. Love the boots!

    Like

Comments are closed.