Sableine

As my Girls get their pedicures, I collect the trimmings. I’ve mentioned this a few times, how my plan is to make jewelry with them. Each horse has a specific gemstone name that goes with their trimmings.

Here’s a simplified pictorial of how the trimming go from stinky funky bits to pretty jewelry…and for the record, no, the finished product does not smell. πŸ™‚

Tools of the stinky trade...containers, toothbrushes and paper towels. And a place to do it outside...

Tools of the stinky trade…containers, toothbrushes and paper towels. And a place to do it outside…

Eeeeew!! That's some funky water! Of course, it has poop, straw, mud...anything the horse has walked through in it. Great for watering your plants with!

Eeeeew!!
That’s some funky water! Of course, it has poop, straw, mud…anything the horse has walked through in it. Great for watering your plants with!

After the first scrub, in fresh water.

After the first scrub, in fresh water.

Scrubbing...

Scrubbing…

I’ll let y’all just imagine what my hands smell like when I’m done with the scrubbing part. 😈

Once they are clean, I set them on paper towels to dry. I mean really dry out…

Hoof Trimmings0414Next I shape and seal…

Once I have them this far, I usually set them aside for a bit. Just so I can figure out how I want to set them.

Once I have them this far, I usually set them aside for a bit. Just so I can figure out how I want to set them.

Last Friday I sat down with my tools and made a few pendants.

Sterling silver, hematite heart, amethyst, and Sableine.

Sterling silver, hematite heart, amethyst, and Sableine.

This one is The Kid’s. She’s been after me to make her a pendant ever since Sable’s first trim. πŸ™‚

Sterling Silver, freshwater pearls, and Sableine.

Sterling Silver, freshwater pearls, and Sableine.

Finally…

Sterling silver, citrine and Sableine.

Sterling silver, citrine and Sableine.

The last 2 will be going into the sale file.

Sharing with Macro Monday 2 and I ❀ Macro.

12 thoughts on “Sableine

  1. Ruby says:

    Wow…this is a interesting combination! …… Happy Monday!

    Like

  2. O what an amazing, creative idea. The clippings give a wonderful base to other jewellery wrapped round them.

    Like

  3. Felicia says:

    At first I was a little doubtful….but yes they turn out great. TFS

    Like

    • WolfSong says:

      It can go wrong easy. I’ve seen some other products people are making with the clippings, and it looks very primitive. Not that that is “wrong” per se, just I don’t think it has appeal to as many people.
      I think the cut and polish is important to making them a piece of jewelry that more people would wear.

      Like

  4. auntynini says:

    Now this is what I call re-purposing! Just awesome!!

    Like

  5. janicead says:

    Have been around all sorts of craft fairs and crafters for decades. This is a first.

    Like

    • WolfSong says:

      It definitely different. Most folks who have horses lose the clippings to their dogs. LOL! I get them before Daphne does.
      Another amazing artist who works in hoof clippings is the fellow who runs Equinite Gems. He makes high end jewelry with hoof clippings. Beautiful stuff!!

      Like

  6. Pat says:

    Very unique.

    Like

  7. gail says:

    beautiful

    Like

Comments are closed.