Scavenger Hunt Sunday

It’s a chilly, rainy day here on the farm, so I’ve been doing photo edits from this past week. Which is good, because I take a lot of photos-I mean, look at my pasture, how can I not?!?-and sometimes, like recently, I run out of hard drive space. Rainy days force me to edit, because I can’t work with the Girls. 🙂

This weeks prompts are Back to School, Family, Books, Portrait and Detail.

Back to School

Back to school shopping was done a week or so ago. Now The Kid has everything she needs to head back to class. She even has a little something extra in her back pack… 😉

Oh Calico!! You can't go!

Oh Calico!! You can’t go!

Poor Freyja. She was not impressed with sitting in the back pack. At. All.

Family

At the stable this week, Kid rode Deimos. He’s a very good boy about lifting his feet. When you finish one, by the time you walk to the next one, he already has it lifted and is waiting for you to hold it and pick it out for him. He is not, however, good about being tied. Someone has to hold the lead rope with him. That’s what made this shot a family affair…Hubby held the rope, Kid picked out hooves, and I took pictures.

It's true...we are a horsey family. ;)

It’s true…we are a horsey family. 😉

Books

Here’s a sample of the books on my current reading list…

Notice a theme here?

Notice a theme here?

We are a family of readers…we actually have a room in our house that is our dedicated library. More and more of our books are of the variety above. 🙂 When it comes to equines, you can never read too many books!

Portrait

This one isn’t one of mine, but since this is the Farm’s blog, I figured I could get away with using The Kid’s photos in prompts too.

Daphne

Daphne

Our Daphne…she looks like she’s sitting beautifully to have her picture taken. She’s not. She’s actually growling at the cows across the road from us. She really, really wants to chase them…it’s the herding dog in her. We cannot, however, let her, because the farmer who owns them would be very angry. Better to just keep her home.

Detail

When I looked at the detail of this next shot, I thought “Hey, looks like someone’s eating my thumb!” She’s not, I’m using my thumb to massage the pressure point inside her mouth.

DSC_0199.1The pressure point inside the horse’s mouth, in the gum line above the top teeth, is a point that is used in cases of colic. Cookie was not having a colic episode here, I was simply practicing. Putting your hands or fingers inside a horse’s mouth can be a risky thing, if your horse isn’t used to it. Just to make sure all my Girls are used to it, I try to get fingers in everyone’s mouths every now and then.

Using the pressure point to release endorphins helps them relax, and understand my fingers in there are okay. It works…the next picture shows that! DSC_0203.1She was a very relaxed Girl afterwards. That’s what I like to see!

Sharing with Scavenger Hunt Sunday hosted by Ashley Sisk.

(A detail I had to go back and add, because I forgot when I first published the post! Oops!)

7 thoughts on “Scavenger Hunt Sunday

  1. Abrianna says:

    At least the cat stayed in the backpack. Wonderful portrait of your pooch.

    Like

  2. Cathy Connolly says:

    Great pictures, and it’s nice to see families enjoying farm life together, because it’s a great life!

    Like

  3. paws2smile says:

    A room of books… oh I am so envious!! 🙂

    Like

  4. Great photos! It’s nice when a family can work together like that. I like your arsenal of Horse books.

    Like

  5. Karen S. says:

    My kind of life right here, what a fun wonderful world with animals in our every move! Great photos.

    Like

Comments are closed.