Scavenger Hunt Sunday

I’m back!!!

I love Scavenger Hunt Sunday, and have so missed not doing the posts the past few weeks. Life was hectic, but we’re settling into an even pattern of work needing to be done, and work getting done, so taking pictures and blogging is easier now.

The prompts this week are Eyes, Upside Down, From Behind, Sunshine and Cup…at the end of this post, I’ll announce the winner from our giveaway last week.

On to the pictures!!

Eyes

My Cookie has been crabby lately…we’re around the 8 month mark of her being Home, and the last time she settled in somewhere, it was in the 8-10 month range that I came along and her world changed again. Horses have amazing long-term memories, and sometimes, I wonder if the crankiness she’s experiencing now has to do with that time frame. It’s not unheard of. Friends have a dog who deals with anxiety, and when his time frame for previous re-homings came close, she said he was an absolute wreck. Once he passed the time that he normally was handed back to Rescue, he settled. He still has moments, but nothing like he experienced then.

EyesSo part of dealing with Cookie, her crabbiness, and what I believe is her fear of moving yet again, is going back to the basics of simply spending time with her. Taking pictures, talking to her, rubbing her, and letting her walk off when the attention is too much.

I love this shot, because as much as she was pushing me away, she had her eyes and ears on me the whole time. That eye is soft and attentive, curious about what I’m doing. It was good to see.

Upside Down

MaxCat

MaxCat

My MaxCat gives the very best upside down shots. He loves to roll on his back, meow and purr, calling for belly rubs. 🙂
This picture was taken by The Kid. Anytime you see a shot that is © Midnight Calico Farm, you know it’s one of her shots.

From Behind

^^^ Up there I said I’ve been letting Cookie walk off when she needs to…that means I see a lot of this…

Showing me her best side :P

Showing me her best side 😛

Lots and lots of from behind shots. Happens when your horse spends most of the time walking away from you.

For a kinder, gentler, from behind shot, here’s our Sable, being pampered by The Kid:

Pretty girl, getting the tangles brushed out of her tail.

Pretty girl, getting the tangles brushed out of her tail.

Usually, I hold the lead rope for The Kid, but I really wanted a shot of her brushing Sable’s tail. Sable ties quite well, and we practice that with her, but I also love to just stand and hold her while she’s being loved on.

Sunshine

We’ve had a lot of sunshine this past week. We’ve loved it. The Girls have loved it. One of the best shots of the week was Sable, enjoying the sunshine and happily coming to check out the camera.

Sunshine2

Cup

This one stumped me. I know I could have taken pictures of a coffee cup, or the new cup Hubby bought me, but I wanted something that had the animals in it. When this shot happened, it was at the end of a long, hot afternoon with the Girls. Cookie had been crabby, Astrid had been pushy, Ruby have been our love pony, and Sable had accidentally  stepped on The Kid’s foot. Kid was crying and having a hard time walking, so I got her to the fence, sat her down and pulled over the water pan. She had wiggled her toes and moved them around to show me her foot wasn’t broken, but it was too painful to walk on. A cold water soak was needed. Water pan was perfect. She soaked for a good 45 minutes, all the while Sable stood with her head hung low, the saddest ever look on her face.

Long story short, after Kid’s foot was feeling better, she *had* to go back to Sable, halter her, and get her to do that perfect back up that she had been asking for. After 3 back steps, she asked for a stop and praised the heck out of Sable. Remember I said horses have amazing long-term memories? They do, but they are also sequential thinkers. The last memory is the one that lasts. So, if Sable’s last memory of being asked to back up is one of hurt and anger because she stepped on her person, she won’t want to back up, because it was a negative experience. Make the last memory to be one where she is praised for doing what she’s asked and she is more willing to do what’s asked next time.

Here’s an interesting article about horse memory.

After The Kid pulled her foot out of the water pan, Sable’s foot went into it, because I noticed a small cut at her coronet. I wanted to soak the spot to clean it, so we could see what we were dealing with and then treat it.

Finally, we were all done with the water pan, and 3 out of 4 horses wanted to have a drink from it.

And so, our foot flavored water was enjoyed by the three in a horse sized cup.

And so, our foot flavored water was enjoyed by the three in a horse sized cup.

See, it took a while, but I got us to the prompt…the water pan was a large-sized horse cup. 🙂

Shared with Scavenger Hunt Sunday hosted by Ashley Sisk.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 Now for what you’ve all be waiting for! Our draw for the winner of the choice of a set of 4 greeting cards, featuring scenes from the farm, or an 8×10 print of one of the images.

Those who answered the questions had their names put into a hat-my spanky new pink straw hat!-and The Kid pulled one random name out…our winner is:

Toosh!!

Toosh!!

I’ll be emailing you shortly, so you can make your decision on what your prize will be and to arrange delivery!

Congratulations!

7 thoughts on “Scavenger Hunt Sunday

  1. Abrianna says:

    Oh poor Sable…that last shot of the three of them drinking is my favorite. and yes, Cookies eye in that first shot is gorgeous.

    Like

  2. Beautiful horses!

    Like

  3. Teresa says:

    Beautiful photos. Love the upside down kitty. That’s what i used for that prompt too. 🙂

    Like

  4. Isobel Anderson says:

    Such great write up and photos. The three drinking together is priceless. Glad the sun is shining on you all. You deserve it. How is your garden recovering. .So much has been a learning curve!!! Love Isobel Date: Sun, 27 Jul 2014 19:13:14

    Like

  5. Toosh says:

    Footsauce in a cup! Yum!
    I agree, the photo of them all drinking is especially lovely.
    Yay a prize!!-thank you very much 🙂

    Like

  6. Great photos. The drinking cup for the horses is my favorite.

    Like

  7. gail says:

    great pictures. in dog training it’s also true that it’s important to end on a successful note.

    Like

Comments are closed.