In My Pasture

Yesterday I told you we were on day 2 of rain. Oh and rain it was! Wow. Not quite as bad as Saturday’s down pour. Even the neighbours were telling us how unusual a storm that one was! Great, I’m thinking…after an unusual, brutal winter, we’re going to get unusual spring patterns too? Seriously? Well, this will make great stories for the grandkids, eventually. Of course, the way The Kid is going, the grandkids are likely to have hooves, but that’s okay too. πŸ˜‰

This morning, I thought I’d share some pictures from the pasture.

This is from the weekend rains.

This is from the weekend rains.

That giant puddle was dried up on Friday! Oh, but look at all that green grass! That’s wonderful to see, and the Girls are loving it too. In fact, they’re leaving hay in the feeders to eat the green stuff instead. We might be able to consider not putting hay down soon…

My MaxCat.

My MaxCat.

I love this boy! He follows me everywhere in the farm-yard and pasture. When the water gets too deep for him, he calls me to come carry him over. No, he’s not spoiled. He’s my MaxCat. ❀

Napping girls.

Napping girls.

I came into the pasture to find these two napping together.

Look at that pretty girl!

Look at that pretty girl!

So relaxed, and sleepy. Good to see after they were all wound from Saturday night’s lightning show.

Look! Lilacs are budding!

Look! Lilacs are budding!

I wasn’t sure if they were going to come back or not. Between the brutal winter, odd spring, and snacking horses, there was some doubt. Nice to see the buds. Can’t wait for flowers!

Lilac bud

Lilac bud

It's trying!

It’s trying!

My poor cherry tree…the buds are there, they just haven’t opened up yet. It’s probably for the best because we still have to transplant it to where we started the orchard. Once the flowers start, that’s not possible until after the fruiting is done. Guess I better get on that!

Max CatOne more of MaxCat, just because he’s such a beautiful boy. Even with his smudge of dirt on his face. πŸ˜‰

Linking to I ❀ Macro, and Macro Monday 2.

11 thoughts on “In My Pasture

  1. Beautiful animals!

    Like

  2. Hannah says:

    Sorry about your bad weather and slow start to spring, I guess things will be blooming for you soon. MaxCat’s eyes match his fur! Your horses look happy to have grass to eat. Happy Spring!

    Like

  3. bettyl - NZ says:

    What delightful photos! I hope you don’t need a boat!

    Like

  4. Teresa says:

    I swear it’s been nothing but horrible, unusual weather patterns since I bought my farm.

    Like

    • WolfSong says:

      I’m thinking of keeping a journal of weather patterns…just to see if this year was the anomaly. It might be interesting…or it could be really depressing!

      Like

  5. gail says:

    max looks like my orange boy feffa. i put the goldfish outside for the summer and it’s cold and pelting down rain tonight.

    Like

    • WolfSong says:

      There’s something special about the Orange Ones. πŸ™‚
      Sounds just about right for this year…fish out, next up, miserable weather!

      Like

  6. Beautiful series! Your kitty reminds me of our Ginger who passed away years ago. Such a sweetheart she was.Thanks for sharing the love up-close with I Heart Macro:-)

    Like

Comments are closed.