A Rainy Kind of Day

This is our second day of rain. Yesterday started out nice, with sun and warmth, but the clouds, rolled in, rain fell, thunder boomed and lightening lit the sky. The girls were less than impressed. I’m in the dog house, yet again. According to the horses, I am supposed to be able to control the weather, and make them far more comfortable. Today, they alternated between sticking to me like glue, and snubbing me. What an odd bunch! 🙂

You’ll have to forgive the foggy quality of today’s Scavenger Hunt Sunday photos. While I had the camera protected in a plastic bag, I couldn’t wipe the fog from the filter fast enough…On to this week’s prompts!

Where I Stand

Where I StandFrom where I stand, we have a pretty darn good life out here on the farm. Especially with a view like this!

Pink

Pink BrushesI have a teen daughter, and 4 mares. There’s a lot of pink in this house! Pink brushes, pink halters, pink saddle pads…pink, pink, pink!

Astrid wears pink...

Astrid wears pink

Cameras are interesting. Tons of Astrid shots are like this. 🙂

The pink halter is actually Sable's.

The pink halter is actually Sable’s.

Here she having a love-up on Max. Silly boy has nearly been stepped on a few times because he lies down in front of her, waiting for snuffles from her.

Technology

Oooooh! New farm tool!

Oooooh! New farm tool!

This week technology and something new go hand in hand…this piece of technology is a 3 pt hitch auger for the tractor. What are we planning on doing with it, you ask? Well, we have these:

Something New

Fence posts.

Fence posts.

700 pieces of something new 😉 …waiting to be installed. The auger will make it so much easier! We got the whole thing, assembly, and bit, cheaper than what we would have paid to rent a hydraulic post pounder for a week.

Favorite Place

Of all the places I like to be, my newest favorite place is where ever this girl is…

Favorite Place
Being where she is means that I am home, on my farm. Chances are the family is here, and we’re spending time with the girls. When I think about how blessed we are with the life we’re building here, I think there is no where else that could be my favorite place.

Sharing with Scavenger Hunt Sunday.

12 thoughts on “A Rainy Kind of Day

  1. sue says:

    Lovely!

    Like

  2. Karen S. says:

    Ah yes, from where you stand, all the way through, life is good! Filled with so much love and joy! Excellent photos!

    Like

  3. gail says:

    i was standing in the back yard tonight waiting for groucho and looking at the sky and thinking this is my favorite place. love the pictures.

    Like

  4. Teresa says:

    I love technology when it comes to putting in fence posts because I hate doing that the old fashioned low-tech way. Your Max looks a lot like my Bob and sounds about as underfoot. I’m always tripping on mine.

    Like

    • WolfSong says:

      We put in a few with a manual post pounder. Oh. My. Gosh.
      The ground is solid clay about a foot down, so it’s really hard to do. The great thing is, once the post is in, it’s bloody well in! I’m not to worried about my large livestock moving posts, that’s for sure!
      Maybe it’s an orange cat thing? 😉
      I love having Max come along on the walk through the pasture.

      Like

  5. Toosh says:

    I too love your favorite place! Thanks for sharing so many photos.

    Like

  6. Home is always a great place to be. Your horses are beautiful animals and I loved the shot with Max the kitty too. That’s a lot of fence posts. I hope the new auger works like a charm.

    Like

    • WolfSong says:

      Enough posts to fence 70 acres, so we’re hoping that auger works well too! We just need to dry out enough to get the work done.

      Like

Comments are closed.