Happy Mother’s Day!

Before we get to Scavenger Hunt Sunday, I just want to wish all the Mama’s out there a very Happy Mother’s Day, from all of us here at Midnight Calico Farm.
Hope y’all had a wonderful day!

I can’t tell you how much I am enjoying these posts! The prompts really make me think, and I love, love, love checking out the other links. It’s interesting and fun to see how everyone interprets the prompts into pictures.

I do have to add here…as much as I want to comment on all the links I visit, unfortunately, I can’t. 😦 For some reason, I am unable to comment on blogspot blogs. Ever since I updated my OS, I haven’t been able to comment…but I am visiting, and enjoying your pictures!

Now, on to this week’s prompts…

Details

I love the details in the antler...

I love the details in the antler…

Hubby has gone through our sizable antler collection, and has been working on cutting a few up for Daphne chewies. I grabbed this one, because the details in it are amazing! As you can see, it’s perfect for displaying jewelry on.

Precious

One ring to rule them all...

One ring to rule them all…

Yeah, I’m a nerd. So what? πŸ˜‰
It’s not Sauron’s ring, but it is my Husband’s wedding ring, and that makes it precious to us. I would have loved to shared a shot of our wedding rings together, but mine is in a jewelry box, still packed away somewhere.

Hungry

Oh, this I had fun with!!

Astrid

Astrid gobbled her’s up!

You see, I had some strawberries in the fridge…and the horses *always* tell me they are hungry…no matter what time of day, or night, if they’ve just had hay, or they are grazing on the grass…they are always hungry, according to them. I thought they’d like to try some strawberries.

Sable wasn't sure about this...

Sable wasn’t sure about this…

She ate half and left the rest.

Ruby, our walking Stomach.

Ruby, our walking Stomach.

There isn’t much Ruby won’t eat. She wolfed this down, lickety split!

And then there's Cookie...

And then there’s Cookie…

She tried it, which was good, but nope…didn’t like that. She spit it out and snorted. Wasn’t happy about the taste at all! Haha! Guess she wasn’t so hungry after all!

Water

In the big field...

In the big field…

This is what’s left for water in the big field. Yay! That whole dark curved section was a small river not so long ago! It flowed right into the pasture. Thankfully, we’ve had some nice warm weather, and it’s drying up beautifully.

This is much lower too.

This is much lower too.

This is right inside the pasture…as much as I try to stop them, the girls insist they must drink from here.

Wide Angle

Wide open prairie.

Wide open prairie.

I don’t have a wide-angle lens, so I did the best I could with my 18-55mm…my property goes right to the trees on the horse head side of the photo…and then we go straight back for 1/2 mile. We’re a 1/4 mile x 1/2 mile rectangle. It’s funny, people say to us “What are you going to do with all that land?” and we reply, “As much as we can…wish we had more!!” 80 acres sounds like a lot, but once you start thinking about livestock-especially larger animals-and the giant gardens I want, well, it’s not as much as it looks like. πŸ™‚

Linking to Scavenger Hunt Sunday.

4 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day!

  1. Toosh says:

    I love the picture of Sable and her mane and bangs, what a blonde beauty! And Ruby’s strawberry shot is so darling-the angle of her head and the 2 tone locks, gorgeous. Who knew supermodels had four legs?!

    Like

    • WolfSong says:

      I can’t wait for you guys to come out and get a proper introduction to the girls. Especially now that they’ve settled in. πŸ™‚
      Meeting them at 10pm, in the dark, with snow, wasn’t the best way to meet them.

      Like

  2. Teresa says:

    Love all your interpretations!

    Like

Comments are closed.