Never Ending Yard Work

I’m not complaining.
Okay.
Maybe a little. But, that’s because some of the work is insane…pulling miles of barbed wire out of the ground because someone was too lazy to take it to the dump, and decided to bury it instead, is ridiculous!!

The reality of it is, we’ve bought land that’s been occupied for many years, and not everyone has been interested in doing what’s best for a. the land, and b. any livestock living on it. That’s means we have to do it. I’m not taking chances with the Girls getting hurt. Removing garbage now means less vet visits. That’s a good thing. Emergency vet visits are not cheap-and horses *always* hurt themselves at the very worst times. Trust me on that, it’s true. πŸ˜‰

The joy of it is that I had a chance to snap some photos for this weeks Scavenger Hunt Sunday prompts…

On my feet

Most of the time, this is what I wear.

Most of the time, this is what I wear.

It’s mucky and dirty, and the pasture is finally drying out into a sticky mass of poop, mud and straw. Yay! No more slop!

Sometimes I wear these...

Sometimes I wear these…

I know what people say about crocs, but they are oh, so comfy! I love my crocs, even though the are ugly as all get out.

Shapes

 

Intersting

Interesting

Here’s an interesting set of shapes I found out in the pasture…the little nub part was sticking up, with just a bare hint of the top ring as well.
*sigh*
This could have caused serious ouchies to any equine who stepped on it.

Little Things

So cute!!

So cute!!

Okay, none of those things are little, but this is one of those little things in life that you have to capture, have to enjoy…Hubby was using the tractor to pull out the barbed wire, and the girls felt they should follow the tractor around the pasture. It was so adorable…I laughed myself silly watching them. πŸ™‚

Good

Looking good!

Looking good!

We’ve spent many hours working in the pasture, getting it into shape for the girls, and it’s looking good. Especially after I scooped up much of the horse apples and used them to fill the holes left by the barbed wire snarls.

Egg

Yummy!

Yummy!

All that work makes a girl hungry…I had made a couple of these egg muffins yesterday, but got full. I pulled it out of the fridge and enjoyed it immensely. It was cold, but the sun was shining, the birds were singing, the dog was playing, and all is good in my world.

Even if I do have a lot more garbage to get rid of. There’s always next weekend. πŸ˜‰

Linking to Scavenger Hunt Sunday.

8 thoughts on “Never Ending Yard Work

  1. Laughter is good for us. I believe I would have had to laugh, too. I bought a piece of land about 30 years ago that had a lot of trash on it. it wasn’t exactly fun to clean up, but it was great knowing it was mine.

    Like

    • WolfSong says:

      I can honestly say, cleaning up the land hasn’t been a joy, but, at the end of a long day, it *is* a joy to sit on the deck, watch the sun go down and know that those 80 acres are ours!
      Thanks for stopping in. πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Nice set. Perfect footwear for the work you were doing. I’ve never owned a pair of Crocs. I just loved your Little Things & Good Shots.
    Mmmm on the egg sandwich.

    Like

  3. Teresa says:

    Picking up is a never-ending job. I’m sure I’ll never have my pasture picked up and clean like I want.

    Like

    • WolfSong says:

      Being on bald prairie, with crazy winds often, I know we’ll always have garbage to deal with, but the wire…Yikes! Just for safety sake, I hope we come to the end of find those hidden piles, and soon!

      Like

  4. Toosh says:

    Indeed with a massive 80 acre purchase, one is bound to find some *surprises*. Interpret that in its many forms….
    Blue crocs can be easily seen in the green of the acreage, should you ever ‘misplace’ one…
    Everyone loves a parade!!! Even the Girls! Especially being the parade! Nice tractor float!! Love that photo, it’s a happy.
    And the pasture shot with the Girls enjoying the space, that is gorgeous. It’s very soothing. What a great ‘aquarium’ view you have from the deck!
    Your clean up pays off every time. Bit by bit.

    Like

Comments are closed.