Scavenger Hunt Sunday

This was a tough one this week, because I kept forgetting to take my camera outside with me. With the melt, its been really sloppy in the farm yard, and sucking mud while slipping and falling a couple of times, does not go well with my camera, let me tell you! I did, however, finally manage pictures for the prompts…so, here we go…

Trick

It can be a real trick to get Daphne to sit still...

It can be a real trick to get Daphne to sit still…

She’s just about 8 months old, so she is a bundle of energetic wiggle. What finally did the trick to get her to sit still was a huge flock of Canada geese flying over.

Selective Color

Green!

Green!

Green just made me happy…in this case, the new green grass growing in the yard.

Close Up

Close up of our sweet Blonde Girl's latest injury.

Close up of our sweet Blonde Girl’s latest injury.

Inner rear leg. When I have the camera with me, and I see things like this, I like to take a picture, so I can look at the injury close up, so I know what I’m dealing with. This is from a kick. Someone kicked her, again. Sable is our biggest girl, standing somewhere around 16.2 hands high. For you non-horse folks, that is, approximately 5 1/2 feet at her withers-the point where her neck meets her shoulders. She’s a big girl! She’s also our most timid girl, and so, sometimes she catches hell from The Paints. Astrid too-I’ve caught Astrid chewing on her back leg. I put a stop to that with some baby butt cream. It tastes awful, and helps heal injuries.

Since this already scabbed-it looks about 12 hours old-I left it alone. I’ll keep an eye on it for the next few days, make sure there’s no infection, and let it heal. As long as there’s no heat in the area, it’s healing fine. Some times (only some times, mind you…if you aren’t sure, *always* contact the vet) less is more, when it come to treating horses. We’ve dealt with these kicks on Sable since she came home, so, unfortunately, I have some experience with watching them heal.

Mirror

Max

Max

I asked Max to show me what he’d look like if he was looking in the mirror. I guess this says it all!

Bright Colors

Leather

Leather

I took an order for a few pairs of moccasins this past week. I had to take pictures of the available colors I had, so that the client could choose the colors he wanted. These bright colors of leather are for vamps…the tops that are decorated with beading.

Sharing with Scavenger Hunt Sunday.

5 thoughts on “Scavenger Hunt Sunday

  1. I love the expression on Daphne’s face. It looks like Max is trying to look cool
    .

    Like

    • WolfSong says:

      Daphne was pondering chasing those geese! We have about a 1000 of them sitting on our back 70 acres right now…hard for a herding dog to not chase them!

      Like

  2. Great set. It can be “tricky” getting pets to sit still. Looks like Daphne did okay. Max cracked me up with that expression.
    Hope the sore on the horse heals okay. I’ve got a burn on my arm so I can sympathize with the horse.

    Like

    • WolfSong says:

      Thanks. 🙂
      All the animals feel like they should be right beside me when I’m taking pictures, so I’m really happy with those shots.
      Thankfully, Sable heals well. This happens to her at least once a week. We’re getting ready to do some fencing, so we can move her into a different pasture, away from the kickers. She’s such a sweet horse, she doesn’t need to be beat on by the others.

      Like

  3. Teresa says:

    I’d say you did an incredibly creative job on the prompts. They are sometimes challenging. Love the picture of your beautiful pup.

    Like

Comments are closed.