Scavenger Hunt Sunday

I’ve been joining up with several blog hops the past few days. There are so many things to share about the farm, that sometimes, it gets hard to decide what I should share each day. Then, I find, I lose focus, and don’t post at all for a while. In joining the link-ups, every now and then, I’m hoping to share more with everyone. 🙂

Today, I’m linking to Scavenger Hunt Sunday…this one is fun, because each week a series of words or phrases is posted, and you take pictures to try to reflect the themes given. Here are this weeks themes, as interpreted by me, inspired by our farm:

Neglected

Polo Cat

Polo Cat

Polo is one of 2 (stray? feral? abandoned by previous owner?) cats who moved into our garage just before winter…we don’t know where they came from, but, we didn’t have the heart to evict them. Winter was coming, and everybody deserves a warm place, and food in their bellies. I haven’t been able to catch them, not even in a cat trap. So, no vet trip, no groomers, and that’s why Polo’s coat looks so neglected.

Signs of Spring

I see fence!!!

I see the fence!!!

If this isn’t a sign of spring, I don’t know what is. Yes, I do mean the fence. A few short weeks ago, we couldn’t see that fence, for all the snow! We’ve had some wonderful warm days, and the snow is, ever so slowly, melting.

Last Thing you Bought

Hoof Trimmings0414Aside from groceries, this as the last thing I bought…that was a pedicure for 2 of the girls. I’ve already explained how things went with The Paints, so they will get trims later. These are the trimmings from Astrid and Sable. Scrubbed, soaked, dried and ready for use. What will they be used for, you ask? Well, they can be used for dog chewies, but I’m not doing that with them. Nope, I plan to use them to make jewelry with. Here’s a close up of one of Sable’s pieces, with a light polish on it:

Trimming,  lightly polished, ready for cutting...

Trimming, lightly polished, ready for cutting…

Once I decide where to cut this, and what shape, I’ll finish polishing, and set into a piece of jewelry. The first few pieces will be for The Kid, because Sable is her horse, and then, there will be pieces available for sale through our soon-to-be Farm Store.

Shadow

My Ruby Shadow

My Ruby Shadow

Here, I’m inside the shelter, shoveling out horse apples. As usual, someone always wants to see what I am doing. This time, my shadow was Ruby. Whether she was feeling like she had to guard the door to protect me, or because she wanted to be the Boss and decide when I was “allowed” out, she stayed there the whole time I was cleaning.

Four Things

4ThingsFour of my very favorite things here on our farm. This was from a windy day-it’s actually from mid-March-where they were cantering around, playing, and having fun. Have to say, I do love these four things. 😉

19 thoughts on “Scavenger Hunt Sunday

  1. Jackie says:

    Great selections!

    Like

  2. Karen S. says:

    Oh how wonderful more winter, and your neglected looks much like my dear old ground’s keeper Monster! Very fun.

    Like

    • WolfSong says:

      It looks wintery, but we’re celebrating the melt. The top board on the fence is 5 ft, and we really did lose it under the snow! We’re down about 3 feet, thankfully.
      I’d love to catch Polo and get him/her in for a check up, one day. 😉
      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  3. I’ve seen the hoof trimming jewelry before. It’s interesting. That said, being married to a farrier, I usually see hoof trimmings and just think of the mess of hoof shavings that have managed to make their way into the trunk of my car.

    Like

    • WolfSong says:

      Those shavings get every where, don’t they! I was amazed to find them in the house after the trims were done.
      When my daughter first started riding at the stable, I begged for the trimmings to work with. Every one thought I was nuts, because they stink, but cleaned up, it’s as wonderful to work with as antler, and far prettier, in my opinion.
      I’m a little jealous that your Husband is a farrier…it’s one of those things we haven’t learned-my Hubby wants to, not me-but it would be a great skill to have!

      Like

  4. Diane says:

    The cat story made me laugh as we have are fair share of taking care of strays. Favorite take is of your “helper/ guardian” while barn cleaning. Animals can be so fickle! Diane #15

    Like

    • WolfSong says:

      Seems with country life comes strays, whether I like it or not.
      I do love my helper horse. Ruby is a sweet girl…when she’s not being pushy. 😉

      Like

  5. Meg says:

    Awwww poor kitty! We had a little girl follow me home one day (I was on a run and she just kept trotting behind me), and she was in my prompts today! Stopping by from the scavenger hunt!

    Like

    • WolfSong says:

      Oh, I saw your kitty pictures…Loved them! Such cute furballs. 🙂
      Love the wedding shoes too…so pretty!
      Thanks for stopping in.

      Like

  6. DrillerAA says:

    Very interesting images for the prompts this week. Feral cats are almost impossible to catch. They have been on their own long enough that they really don’t care for human contact.

    Like

    • WolfSong says:

      Thank you.
      I wish I knew where these two came from. Unfortunately, surrounded by farmland, around here cats are often considered disposable. I’m fine with them hunting here…less rodents on my land is a good thing!

      Like

  7. My gosh you’ve had the snow this winter. I feel for everyone who had that much snow. I bet it is nice to see it finally melting. Thank you so much for giving those two (feral) kitties a fighting chance by giving them shelter and food. Your horse are lovely, they look very happy in that last shot.

    Like

    • WolfSong says:

      We are so happy for the spring melt!!
      Once we knew it was cats who had moved in (we originally thought it was a skunk), there was no way we could evict them. Our winters are brutal, and a little extra cat food put down fro 2 more sure won’t hurt us!

      Like

  8. Love the horses playing photo and the one of Ruby watching you clean.

    Like

  9. Teresa says:

    So glad you joined the scavenger hunt. It is one of my favorites! Good to hear you’re starting to get a bit of melting. Soon you’ll have the whole fence and then green stuff! Can’t wait to see what you do with the trimmings.

    Like

    • WolfSong says:

      The scavenger hunt is so fun! Plus, I love seeing how other people interpret the themes.
      Green stuff seems like such a far away dream. lol! Though, I do have a whole bunch of seeds started, so at least I can dream. 🙂
      I can’t wait to share what I do with the trimmings. It’s going to be awesome. I hope.

      Like

  10. gail says:

    four things is a great picture.

    Like

Comments are closed.