Silly Horses

The weather has been nice. Finally! Which brings out the silly in the girls. Sure can’t blame them, it’s been a long, brutal winter, and they need some fun in the sun too!

Doing the Sable shuffle...

Doing the Sable shuffle…

We came into the pasture to find that all but Astrid were laying down, enjoying the warmth of the sun. While we were there Sable decided to half roll, and scrub her face on the ground. Everyone is itchy everywhere as the winter coats start to shed out.

Big goofy grin!

Big goofy grin!

She’s such a goofball, this horse is…she sees the camera and smiles, no matter what she’s doing.

Ahhhh, white spot on her belly!

Ahhhh, white spot on her belly!

I’m glad to have got this shot, because I had no idea Cookie has this white spot. You’ll notice a bit of a grin on her horsie face too. 😉

Scrubbing the itchy hair out...

Scrubbing the itchy hair out…

I have whole series of Astrid rolling-which will come in another post after I edit the pictures…

Since the winter coats are blowing, and it was Spring Break, The Kid and I spent some time grooming everyone. We took turns with Ruby and Astrid, Kid groomed Sable, and I got a few brush strokes on Cookie here and there.

Hugging Ruby

Hugging Ruby

Ruby does loves to be groomed. It’s one of the best ways to spend time with her. She’s actually pretty pushy about it, if you’re grooming someone else, so we try to tag team grooming. Someone is always with Ruby, while the other person grooms one of the others. We can’t always do it that way, so sometimes, Ruby has to be backed up, but most times, when there’s 2 or more of us out there,  grooming goes very well.

My Helper.

My Helper.

Helper Horse wants to see what you are doing, all the time! LOL!

Astrid likes to be close to people all the time, so when I’m working on someone else, it’s like I’m the middle of a horse sandwich. She puts her nose on my shoulder and blows in my ear, she nibbles my hoodie, checks pockets for treats, and loves to lick my rubber boots.
Weirdo. Hahaha!
But she’s a very sweet weirdo, and we love her. 🙂

Linked to Camera Critters

12 thoughts on “Silly Horses

  1. Roan says:

    Looks like they are enjoying the day! Great shots!

    Like

  2. sue says:

    Lol! I forgot about the bootlicking!!
    Great shots

    Like

  3. Isobel Anderson says:

    Thanks for the Spring photos you must all be relieved that Winter is going and good riddance!

    Like

    • WolfSong says:

      We had the temp. dip below zero a couple of nights, and I tell you, we didn’t care. We smiled and were happy it wasn’t -50!

      Like

  4. Pat says:

    Fun shots of your beautiful animals.

    Like

  5. Toosh says:

    Ah the sweet relief of Spring! Bring on the hobo fire!

    Like

  6. gail says:

    nice to see the girls celebrating spring.

    Like

Comments are closed.