Priorities

Being new to this farmstead means there is a lot of things we want to do…A. Lot. I can’t stress that enough…One of the toughest things to do is prioritize what *needs* doing over what I *want* to do.

Like this:
We *need* more fencing. I *want* a finished chicken coop.
We *need* trees planted. I *want* a milk animal.
We *need* to get the attic dealt with-there are condensation issues, and no access panel. Must be fixed before next winter!
I *want* to re-do the bathroom.
We *need* rotational pastures…we *need* to seed the back 70 acres for pasture…we *need* to get a front gate up…we *need* to build a school bus shack…we *need* to get the walk behind snowblower fixed…we *need* the range hood installed…we *need* to clean the horse shelter…we *need* a barn…

I *want* to build straw bale buildings as guest houses, and a sewing hut…I *want* to have an aquaponics set up (Thanks Paul! Your set up has me dreaming and planning!)…I *want* to get stock ready for the summer Farmer’s Market…

I want to win the lottery… 😛
I need to win the lottery… 😛

And so on, and so on…there is so much to do, so little time to do it.

So, how do we decide what needs doing first?

First is fencing. Fencing the back 70 acres is #1, prime job to be done. If nothing else, we have to get the posts in. Pulling wire can come later, but as soon as we can get out on the land, we have to get the posts in. Why is this so important? Remember waaay back in this post I mentioned how we had an issue with a neighbour? That particular person leases the land next to us…he used to lease our land from the former owner. I did not buy this land to lease to a farmer, and while I am sympathetic to someone who loses 70 acres of healthy cropland to grow on, I am not willing to give up my land, my goals, to give that person extra crop land. Not when the property was publicly listed, and the person could have purchased it himself.

So, to be sure that our land is *our land* when fenced, I had a survey done…$1600 later, I have markers telling me exactly where my land is. In order to take advantage of that, fencing has to be done first. Also, I want to be sure there are no “mix ups” with that neighbour, and “accidental” seeding of my land happening. Fencing is the way to do that.

After that, comes trees.

I have 6 apple trees, 4 pears, 14 honeyberry bushes, 2 wolfberry bushes, 5 poplars, 60 white cedars, 40 villosa lilacs, and 50 Colorado spruce trees to plant. Yep, that’s a lot of trees. Obviously, trees are the #2 priority.

Oh, and I have 1 cherry tree, that came from the house in the city, to plant too. 🙂

After that comes the garden. Seed starting happens next weekend. I traditionally start my seeds on Spring Break. Well, that’s next week, and so, it’s time! So many tomatoes to start! Plus the peppers, both sweet ones and hot! With all the snow though, it’s hard to get into the mindset of growing things.

Thankfully, there is a lot of the stuff I can do myself. Like cleaning the horse shelter…plus, once the snow in the pasture melts, the girls won’t insist on being right beside me while I do it.

We are also very blessed with many great friends who have offered to help out with our plans. Thanks to them all…and I hope after this summer, we’re still friends…because I plan to call in every offer I can, to help out. But, I promise to feed everyone really well after each and every work day! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Priorities

  1. debbie says:

    we’ve been on our place for years, and there’s never enough time, it seems. Fencing and housing for the livestock are definitely priorites. Many days I’d be late for work in the AM or working after dark after work to fix a fence or mend something. Seed starting is another one that has to get done; we grow most of our vegetables for the year.
    why do you need so many cedars and spruce and lilacs? some fruit trees and berry bushes make sense they take a few years to produce usually.
    I live in New England. Never had to plant trees, we’re usually fighting them off since they take over any space they can find.

    Like

    • WolfSong says:

      We are on bald prairie with *shudders* no shelter belt.
      The land we bought has 10 acres of pasture, and the other 70 were used for grain crops, so every tree/bush was torn out. We’re working on replacing them, and returning the land to it’s bush-like state. 🙂 Unfortunately, we don’t get rogue trees popping up-I wish!-because we’re surrounded by grain land too…

      We also have, as our nearest western neighbour, a hog barn. Thankfully, the poo slew is on the *other* side of it, but when the wind comes up just right…well, at least no one can complain about the smell from my animals. The lilacs will form the shelter belt on that side of the house. That way, once they’ve come into bloom, we can have lilac scented hog poo! LOL!

      Like

  2. Teresa says:

    It’s never-ending, that’s for sure.

    Like

Comments are closed.