Sleeping Beauties

After yesterday’s post, the weather was lovely, so I headed out with the camera to see what the Girls were up to. As I approached the pasture, this was my first sight…

Fiona and Ruby

Fiona and Ruby

As usual, Ruby loves to doze in front of the waterer. It’s her goal in life to control all the food and water. None of the other horses are willing to disturb her when she dozes here. I try to keep an eye on the situation during the day. If I see her there, and someone is waiting for a drink, I’ll go out and make her move. If everyone else is off doing their own thing, I let Ruby think she has all the power. 😉

Once I was in the pasture, I found this scene...

Once I was in the pasture, I found this scene…

Blonde Girl dozing by the shelter, with Astrid and Cookie lying together. Astrid was snoring.

Pretty girl. <3

Pretty girl. ❤

If Astrid’s muzzle looks really close to Cookie’s back, it’s because it was. There was just about a hand worth of space between them…Snuggling with each other, without touching.

Even closer.

Even closer.

Once Cookie lay flat-out, they were hairs apart. This is wonderful to me. It made my heart sing, because seeing this, I knew, Astrid was 100% accepted as part of the herd. It’s been a bit of a rough go for Little A (herd dynamics, especially among an all mare group, can be difficult, to put it nicely), getting to this level of acceptance, but she made it. I knew, once the Paints accepted her, she’d be fine. 🙂

Oops. Woke them up a bit...

Oops. Woke them up a bit…

Both gave me the “Why are you bothering us?!?” look. I told them it was bribery pictures. For when they act like they hate each other again, I’m going to tell them “I have proof that y’all like each other!” They put their heads back down and ignored me.

After that, I left them alone, to continue their naps. Since they were comfortable together, Snotty Ruby had to come along and make them both get up. Earned Ruby a bite on the ass from Cookie, who was not impressed with being woken.

Cookie and Fiona

Cookie and Fiona

Oh well, had to come get a drink anyways.

Ms. Fifadoodles

Ms. Fifadoodles

She’s grown into a beautiful girl. She’s also not as timid as she used to be. Here she just sat and let me take her picture…different story if I try to pick her up. Not having any of that, but pictures, and the odd pet now and then are fine.

3 thoughts on “Sleeping Beauties

  1. Isobel Anderson says:

    Such beautiful shots of your “girls” Spring is officially here on Thursday! Cheers Isobel

    Like

  2. sue says:

    Beautiful photos!

    Like

  3. 2me4art says:

    that is so sweet! I love that cats & horses can bond with one another! ~amy

    Like

Comments are closed.