A Winter Whine

I know it’s been a while since I posted, and well, this post is going to be whiney. Just a warning.

We’ve had stupid cold again. The cold I can handle, it’s the blowing of the snow that gets to me. And The Kid. And most definitely, Hubby. He’s the one stuck on the tractor clearing out the driveway 3 times a week. *sigh* Enough. We’re so over and done with winter.

The Girls are eating like crazy. They can’t help it. With the cold, they need the extra food-and add in that it’s been damp too, and that means hay is going at an alarming rate! Like 800 lbs in 5 days. That’s double rations, and they’re still pawing for the stuff under the snow (they do this because they like to, not because they’re going without!).

Next week, I have another hay delivery coming. Thank goodness! Happily, this delivery is coming from the very same hay source that the stable uses. So, I know, it’s darn good hay. Problem is, with all the snow piled in the yard, I have nowhere to put it. And yet, I have to find somewhere to put it, because the Girls still have to eat.

With this ridiculous cold, and blowing snow, the Girls haven’t had their hooves done since they got here. I can’t fault the Trimmer, because she’s been busy moving snow herself, and, some of her regular clients haven’t had their trims done on time either. She’s actually full for clients, but has agreed to help us out with the girls because she has an understanding of the patience needed for some rescue horses to have trims done.

Like Cookie. That poor horse, her hooves are in such horrible shape, and I still can’t get her to lift for me. She’s getting better about not trying to bite or kick, but a lift just hasn’t happened…she needs a trim on her backs so bad. All hooves are cracked, her fronts are flaring, and her backs. Oh, by all that I hold Holy, her backs make me want to cry. I am amazed that my beautiful paint girl can walk, trot, canter, and even gallop. I am so scared at what the Trimmer is going to say when she does get here…it’s going to be months, if not a year or more, of regular trims to re-hab her hooves. And, there will be no saddle training until her hooves are healthy. All we can do is work on halter training and ground work. Though, frankly, that is a lot of work to do with her! My poor Sweet Babboo.<—-10 points goes to the first person who recognizes that reference! 😉

And finally, just to make this winter a little bit worse…

On Wednesday, Ruby stomped on Heidi-Cat. Heidi was in the hay pile, and Ruby was sniffing and snorfling her, and then, decided to paw and step on her. Heidi came away with a sore shoulder, and a bit of a limp. Then yesterday…Hubby came home to pick me up. Kid had Drama after school. It was nicer than it has been out, so Spooky and Heidi were sitting on the deck in the sunshine. What we didn’t know-and still don’t know how it was managed-was when we got into the truck to pick The Kid up at the library, we had a hitchhiker.

Coming out of the library, Hubby noticed a cat under the truck. It was Spooky. The library in town is about 15 kms away, with most of that being highway! Kid caught him, and we left. It wasn’t until we got home, we realized Heidi was missing. We think she and Spooky may have gone on their “grand adventure” together.

So, now our Heidi-Cat is missing. We’ve posted flyers, called both the library, and the local vet. I’ve posted on Facebook, and it’s been shared all over the place. We’re just hoping, because Heidi is so friendly, that someone has picked her up…and that they see our flyers, and she comes home.

This winter needs to end, because I don’t think I can take much more. 😦

3 thoughts on “A Winter Whine

  1. sue says:

    😦 hang in there. It has been a brutal winter, but it WILL end!!

    Like

  2. Teresa says:

    Hope things get better for you.

    Like

  3. Toosh says:

    Seinfeld comes to mind….

    Everybody chant: windrow, windrow! We are very excited to come over this Summer for a good old fashioned windrow planting! Just let us know when it is. 🙂

    Cats can sure be sneaky when they want to, I hope Heidi finds her way back to you soon.

    Summer will be that much sweeter after this frozen season. Can’t wait….

    Like

Comments are closed.