Shoveling Sh**

With any farm that has livestock, there is an abundance of shit. This week’s job was to clear away as much as possible from around the feeders, and inside the shelter. I started Monday, where I moved approximately 500lbs of shit and hay. Then, having seen Sable bang her head on the shelter doorway, I spent 3 hours chopping the snow/shit/urine pack from the shelter entrance. I have more of that to do yet, but I’m going to make kissy faces at Hubby to help me. We have an old mining pick that he swings much harder than I do…if he’ll use that to break it up, I can shovel it away.

The girls, of course, mill around and watch the removal of their waste, and act like they’re losing gold. Everyone wants to see the wheelbarrow, everyone wants to stand beside me(even Cookie!), and everyone wants to be sure I don’t take away their good stuff!

Finally, I got 98% of it cleaned up(it keeps regenerating!), and then the girls could relax.

Astrid

Astrid

That’s the current pile of shit and hay. Underneath that is the packed down stuff from earlier this winter. In the spring, Hubby will go in with the tractor, scrape it all out and we’ll build a compost pile outside the pasture. Can’t do it now, because we can’t get the tractor into the pasture. After some time composting, it will be fantastic for the garden…and anyone in Manitoba that wants some, is welcome to come get it! I’ll give you a shovel, and you can fill as many bags, or pails you want. Have a truck? Hubby will use the tractor and fill the back for you. πŸ™‚

This is why there is hay in the shit pile.

This is why there is hay in the shit pile.

My dear horse believes that hay is the best bedding ever! To be fair, she does seem to have some claustrophobia issues, so lying in the shelter is *not* something she’ll do. She rarely goes in, but will stand in the doorway while the others are in…she always needs to have a clear escape route, my Girl does. *shrug* A girl has to lay down sometimes, why not in your food?

Relaxing in the sun.

Relaxing in the sun.

She’s relaxed enough here, though, that I’m able to be right next to her while she lays down. I even went right to her and offered her a hay pellet. She didn’t want it, she just wanted to doze, but it was a clear indicator of trust, that she didn’t feel the urge to get up and move away.

Astrid dozing.

Astrid dozing.

This picture does not do Astrid justice. She’s a really beautiful girl, and such a sweetheart. She’s so red right now, and I can’t wait to see her shed out of her winter coat!

The Blonde Girl and The Paint

The Blonde Girl and The Paint

I love that…The Blonde Girl and The Paint…makes me think of a title of an old spaghetti western. LOL! I want to write a children’s book, and use it as a title…perhaps it’ll be about bullying, and how a new horse tries to fit into the herd in her new home. πŸ˜‰

Love PonyOne more of my girl, dozing…can you find the surprise in the hay? There’s 2 of them. πŸ˜‰

8 thoughts on “Shoveling Sh**

  1. Sue says:

    Love the idea of a children’s book!!

    Like

  2. gail says:

    kids book sounds like a great idea. see the kitties in the hay.

    Like

  3. Toosh says:

    Lumps of fur resting in the hay….is that like a fly in your soup?…

    Like

  4. Teresa says:

    I’m pretty much ignoring the manure removal for the winter. I love having the ring feeder for my cattle. It helps prevent a lot of the waste. I have noticed the girls are much neater than MJ. He likes to spread it around as bedding too.

    Like

    • WolfSong says:

      As much as I want to ignore poop moving, if I don’t move it, I can’t get in with the wheel barrow to feed them. Oddly, everyone needs to poop right beside the pasture gate. πŸ˜›
      Summer will see us looking for, or Hubby building, a big bale feeder. Something horse safe, because they can get hurt in a bubble wrap factory. Especially our Sable! πŸ˜‰

      Like

Comments are closed.