Finally!

Since Cookie has been here, we’ve tried a variety of treats with her, just to see what she likes. Ruby and Sable will eat anything you hand them. Cookie has been far more picky. She wasn’t impressed when she finally got a piece of apple. Nickers (store-bought horse treats) were ignored. She turned her nose up at the flax/apple cookies I made. Candy canes? Pfft, please. No way she’d even look at them. She loves to smell Ruby’s breath after she’s had mints, but has no interest in eating them herself.

We did hit on carrots. She loves carrots! But. I have to hold them for her. LOL! I hold the end of the carrot, while she daintily bites pieces off. While that’s fine as an every now and then treat, I don’t want to overload her on carrots. Besides, when it comes time to work her a little more for training, holding a carrot every time she does as I ask isn’t going to work. Carrot coins are a no-no, because horses can choke on them.

After doing some reading and research, I decided a trip to the feed store was necessary. There we found FrontRunner Pleasure Cubes. They are an alfalfa hay pellet that’s just hay, compressed. Looks like this:

Oh, don't they look yummy?

Oh, don’t they look yummy?

Puppy liked them. She eats the hay anyways, and loves tossing around the stemmier pieces, so I gave her a pellet. I had hay cube every where!! But dang, she had fun with it!

Once Hubby started the tractor, Kid and I went out, with a handful each of pellets, to see who would like them. No surprise, Ruby gobbled hers. Sable thought they were the Best. Ever! Astrid loved them too…and Cookie. Well, thankfully, one of the pellets I had was longer, because she wasn’t sure about taking it. I held it for her like I do carrots, and she nibbled, oh, so carefully, a chunk off. Well. She decided that was the best treat I have ever given her, and carefully, but with determination, took the rest of the pellet.

Yay! I’ve hit on a treat my picky old nag likes, and that we can use in training too. 😀 I pulled out the last few I had in my pocket, and with a quick lesson in how to take treats from a flat hand, she lipped up the last of the pellets. Then followed me, to see if I had more.

Checking to see if I have any more treats.

Checking to see if I have any more treats.

Every time she came close I had to turn and show her, nope, no more treats. 🙂

Ruby did not want to pose with me. At. All. Grump!

Ruby did not want to pose with me. At. All.
Grump!

Are you sure you don't have any more yummies?

Are you sure you don’t have any more yummies?

Really, it was amazing, to see Cookie acting like this. She was acting like a pocket pony, searching and asking for treats. Never pushy, but always there.

Ruby is a lot pushier for treats.

Ruby is a lot pushier for treats.

Ruby is a pushy pants. Which is part of the reason she didn’t want to pose for pictures with me. I reminded her to use her manners, and to not push. She forgets, sometimes, she’s *not* lead mare when I’m in the pasture. She can be lead mare of the hoofed ones, but once I set foot in there, I’m the Boss. Same with The Kid.

Astrid just wanted to know what the camera was.

Astrid just wanted to know what the camera was.

There’s a good reason to have a filter on a lens…easier to clean horse boogers off the filter than the lens itself. 🙂

Finally, a shot of my Helper.

me n heidiHeidi. One of her favorite spots, on my shoulder. She’s my Helper Cat.

8 thoughts on “Finally!

  1. Teresa says:

    So love seeing you out there with the animals! Glad you found something she likes.

    Like

  2. Toosh says:

    Now who wouldn’t like your homemade cookies? That is one picky pony! I’m sure the apple flax cookie would be lovely with a cup of tea.

    Like

    • WolfSong says:

      Next time we get together, I’ll make a batch of them for us. They really are quite good-of course I had to try them! The ingredients list is so small…ground flax seeds, unsweetened applesauce, cinnamon, and a grated apple. Yum!

      Like

  3. gail says:

    great pics. glad you’ve found a training treat for cookie

    Like

    • WolfSong says:

      Thanks Gail. It was fun being out taking pictures. If only it was spring! I expect there will be some great photo ops then.
      I’m glad too, that Picky Paint likes the cubes. 😉

      Like

  4. deb nh says:

    I haven’t tried many of the cookie treats, because most are too darned expensive. Carrot pieces have always worked for me and my mares. I’ve never had a horse choke on carrot pieces. I read they have less sugar than apples, I had a laminitc horse so sugar was an issue. that’s another reason I stayed away from the cookies, no idea how much sugar /starch was in there. Glad you found something!

    Like

    • WolfSong says:

      I agree with you about the expense of horse cookies!
      Our feed store has flavored hay cubes-the exact some ones I bought, only with peppermint or apple flavoring-for 4x the price! Pfft, I foolishly bought a bag of the mint for her too, but she turned up her nose at them. The tri-color paint, Ruby, loved them, but she’s a walking stomach. There’s no treat that she turns down!

      For carrots, I’ve done chunks, sticks, and whole ones. After seeing a horse choke on a coin at the stable my Kid rides at…*shudders*…not something I want to take a chance on! But, as much as Cookie loves them, there is the whole “Mom, you have to hold this for me to eat it!” thing. Horses are just funny creatures sometimes!

      Thanks for dropping in! 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.