How Horses Saved My Child’s Life…

And why I had to do the same for horses…

Grade 5 was Hell for my Girlie. She was bullied by 3 girls, 1 used to be her best friend. She missed time at school, she made herself sick, she wanted to die. Yes, my Girlie was moving rapidly towards becoming a bullying statistic.
We, her parents, did all the things we had to do, much of what we did fell on deaf ears, and those that did hear were as powerless as we were to stop it.

So, we put her in riding lessons. And Girlie blossomed. She changed. She found meaning in her life again. I credit 2 horses with saving her…Henry, that 13-year-old TB gelding. Her first love, her forever love. And Holly. A beautiful, loving paint mare at the same stable.

Horses saved my Girl’s life. There is no doubt about it.

And so, once we started this journey into farming, and country life, we have always said we will save the lives of horses. As many as we can. Today, our 3 girls came home. They came to us through Blackbird Ranch and Equine Rehab, a wonderful Mom and Daughter team, who work with volunteers to save these horses from the meat buyer at auction, and give them new lives in new homes.

Meet Nikki, Ruby, and Sable:

Okay, it's their bums. ;)

Okay, it’s their bums. πŸ˜‰

This is Nikki. I loved her from the very second I saw her...I knew this was going to be my girl.

This is Nikki. I loved her from the very second I saw her…I knew this was going to be my girl.

This Sable. She was a surprise...we had gone to visit Nikki and Ruby, and this girl stole Hubby's heart. She is a big sweetheart.

This is Sable. She was a surprise…we had gone to visit Nikki and Ruby, and this girl stole Hubby’s heart. She is a big sweetheart.

This is Ruby. :)

This is Ruby. πŸ™‚

The Girls in their new home...their forever home.

The Girls in their new home…their forever home.

These 3 horses, who could have so easily been sold to the meat buyer, will now live out their lives here, on Midnight Calico Farm. Where all they have to do is be horses, be loved and go on some trail rides, every now and then. πŸ˜‰

10 thoughts on “How Horses Saved My Child’s Life…

  1. Amanda says:

    What a wonderful post! I’m so glad your daughter has found her calling in horses and that you guys are there to help out these beautiful animals. I bet your daughter is on cloud 9 with her new farm and pets!

    Like

  2. Judith says:

    Yay, you! All of you deserve….. Horses!!
    I personally find horses intimidating (I was raised in a city and tech training only confirmed how big they are and how small their brains are) but I believe EVERYBODY deserves love and understanding. People like yourselves who rescue other jerks unwanted animals are my heros.

    Like

    • WolfSong says:

      They are big, but really, not too hard to understand. They’re prey, and humans have to approach them understanding that they react like prey. Once you get inside the circle, and they realize that your not a scary predator, they relax.
      Thank you for the compliment. *blushes*
      My heart says animals who are thrown away are not worthless, and someone needs to show them a kindness. Any time I can, I need to.

      Like

  3. Toosh says:

    A pony for each of you! Every good story has a pony in it. Or three.

    Like

    • WolfSong says:

      Wasn’t the immmediate plan, but when the horse chooses you, you go with it. Especially when they have a good heart and are smart too. πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. gail cavanaugh says:

    what a great post. your girls are beautiful thank you for giving them a loving home.

    Like

  5. Teresa says:

    It’s so nice to hear the changes have been good for your girlie. Lucky horses to come live with you.

    Like

    • WolfSong says:

      I’m telling you, her former classmate wouldn’t recognise her. The confidence, the way she lives in her own skin now…it’s beautiful.
      I think I’m the lucky one, to have the horses come live with us! πŸ™‚

      Like

Comments are closed.